Skip to content

The Big 2-Oh-Oh

November 25, 2012
Funeral Duskywing

© jmillerphoto.com – Funeral Duskywing

After I put the final touches on my last post and hit the submit button, WordPress comes back and says that it was post #199.  To which I’m thinking “Yikes… the last 100 posts have just flown by.”

So today I celebrate post #200.  A good time to reflect, I guess.  Two hundred posts in and this still remains one of my favorite parts of the week.  Never a chore–always a joy.  I wish I had time to write more often, but life is what happens when we are busy making other plans.

I have enjoyed sharing the recent and not so recent images that I’ve turned into 1’s and 0’s. I can’t find the quote and I know I’m paraphrasing it, but if I could tell the entire story with words I wouldn’t have to lug around all the camera equipment.

I have enjoyed sharing the places I’ve been.  Nine times out of ten I “found” these places because others shared with me.  As such, if I didn’t share the location then I would feel like I’m being selfish.  More “discoveries” are on tap for next year as I find more and more of my adopted home state of Texas.

And I have enjoyed sharing the mechanics of photography.  Whether it be what I pack to get a shoot done or new software on the horizon, hopefully my words have helped.

I have a series of posts I’m working on about great places in my neck of the woods that I like to shoot in.  Bunches of other ideas as well.  The bottom of my monitor is lined with blog post ideas that I will work on once I feel comfortable typing more than I am right now.  Have a great week!

About the Image:
I stumbled upon this image of a Funeral Duskywing (Erynnis funeralis) in the past week while I was digging through the archives for my Ode A Day journey over at Google Plus.  This image was made at Medina River Natural Area back in April of this year.  It had sat on the “Still to be Identified” list until I was reminded of it, did some digging, misidentified it, and then got a helpful hand from a person far more skilled in butterflies than I.  Fairly extreme crop, but underbrush and other factors kept me from getting closer.  But it was one of my few butterfly life list adds.  Standard gear was employed.  ISO 400, f/14 at 1/125th.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2012 1:19 pm

    Well put, Jim. Congrats on #200!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

