Skip to content

Back again. For now.

December 31, 2012
Common Checkered-Skipper

© jmillerphoto.com – Common Checkered-Skipper

Seems like it has been forever since I’ve written a post.  Probably because it has been a long time since I last posted something.

I unintentionally took some time off from full-scale blogging.  There were two primary reasons for this.

First was just raw time.  My time off from work created a backlog that saddled me with a lot of long hours.  Combine this with the fact that the last few weeks of the year tends to be incredibly busy in my line of work (after all, we have to get presents on the sleigh 😉 ) and I found I didn’t have a lot of time to spend writing, revising, and clicking the publish button.

But the second is that this blog is driven by my going out and shooting images and I spent a lot of time in November and December not going out and shooting images.  I did make it out for a single shoot in December, but while it was a good shoot there were too many other things that kept my attention to sit down to write a proper blog post.

So the holidays are now over, the work load has dropped a bit, and I am recovering from a couple of weeks away from the homestead.  Five days of driving combined with five days with family and friends.  It was a great trip, but the two days driving back has left me very tired and very sore.  I’ve once again made some goals for the new year, but I still have to look back at 2012.  Once I get some sleep I’m going to hop on those topics to start 2013.

Have a safe holiday, y’all.  Watch out for the other guy–if he’s not drunk he’s probably texting.

About the Image:
This Common Checkered-Skipper (Pyrgus communis) was part of the treasure trove of images I brought home from Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas, during my single shoot in December.  It was a good shoot as you can see from my images over at Flickr.  As usual, the Standard Gear was employed.  Technical data was ISO 400, 1/100th at f/11.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2012 4:08 pm

    Great image of the Common Checkered Skipper, Jim. Happy New Year. 🙂

  2. December 31, 2012 4:17 pm

    I think we all tend to trail off at the end of the year. Happy New Year! Excellent photo.

  3. January 1, 2013 4:55 am

    Lovely image and glad you’re “back in the saddle.” I now work for Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge and I’ll be looking out for new bugs and birds here in the swamp and uplands of southern Georgia. Happy and productive New Year!

    • January 1, 2013 7:12 am

      Thanks Cindy and a very Happy New Year to you as well. Congrats on the job–sounds incredibly cool.

Leave a Reply

