Skip to content

The Nearly No Photography Weekend

January 13, 2013

The title of the post says it all.  One day a year there are obligations I must fulfill in order to make the rest of the year a little more livable.  That was my Saturday.  No further explanation will be forthcoming.

Today I had every intention of getting out, but a sleepless night and the beginnings of what is hopefully only a cold set upon me this morning.  It was all I could do to get out to the grocery store, knock out a couple small tasks, and then escape for the comfort of a warm bed with warm blankets.

At some point this afternoon I was downstairs refilling the orange juice and contemplating some form of solid food.  I glanced out the window and saw a large bird.  It perched a quick glance told me that it was a hawk.  I pulled out the camera (which has been very lonely on the shelf for about the last month) and after much contemplation it appears to might be a Cooper’s Hawk.  But I’m going to share the image with a couple of friends offline and I might show it.  Honestly, it wasn’t a very good shot.  Bad lighting, bad time of day, off the almost useless monopod.  I might have enough for an ID.

I’m hoping next weekend my photographic luck will turn and I will find myself either firmly planted in a bird blind or maybe headed down to the Gulf Coast.  Only time (and the disappearance of this cold) will tell.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

