Skip to content

Birds of a Feather

January 22, 2013
Ladder-baked Woodpecker

© jmillerphoto.com – Ladder-baked Woodpecker (Male)

I figured that I would take advantage of the MLK, Jr. holiday to go out to Pedernales Falls State Park.  The weather was going to be good and with nothing else pressing it seemed like the thing to do.

I managed to get there reasonably early, plopped myself into the blind, and got to it.  The weather was almost too good.  The light was very strong and there were enormous shadows over about two-thirds of the blind.  But where it was bright, it was pleasingly bright.

Two hours and nearly a full 16Gb card later, I packed up and headed home, happy I’d made the trip.

Some highlights for the day:

  • I added the Canyon Wren to my life list.  That makes 147 birds on the life list and 2 adds for the new year in two trips out.
  • I saw my first Common Ground Dove in nearly a year.  And where was the Ground Dove?  In a tree, of course.
  • I saw my first Golden-fronted Woodpecker in a long time.  I heard an obnoxious screech and wondered what the heck could be making that noise, and then I realized there was only one bird capable of making that noise.  Beautiful young female that I didn’t capture as well as I wanted to.  But what the heck, she was nice to see.

It was just an 18 species day, but I enjoyed the shooting time and I got to visit with some nice folks who too had taken advantage of the holiday weekend to get back to nature.

About the Image:
This male Ladder-backed Woodpecker (Picoides scalaris) was nice enough to make a couple of trips into the blind, though he was having a heck of a time with a very territorial Northern Mockingbird who decided that the blind didn’t need any stinking woodpeckers.  He tried it with the Golden-fronted Woodpecker as well, but learned that it wasn’t such a swell idea.  As always this was shot with the Standard Gear, no Flash, ISO 400, 1/200th at f/9.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2013 8:38 pm

    Jim,
    You have a fantastic blog…really well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

