Skip to content

On Unfinished Business

January 28, 2013
Krýsuvíkurkirkja

© jmillerphoto.com Krýsuvíkurkirkja

It was another zero photography weekend.  The light was horrible in the mornings and not all that great in the afternoons.  The afternoon was also windy and really not the type of shooting conditions that I beg for.  As I had other projects that I could work, I worked those.

But the title refers to unfinished business and in this case it is matters of Iceland.

I received a note this past week regarding Krýsuvíkurkirja.  This was a beautiful wooden church not far from Reykjavík (Iceland’s capitol).  Off the beaten path, but worth the drive.  A couple of years over the winter holidays this gem of a church was burned to the ground in what was later discovered to be a case of arson.

So this message came from somewhat out of the blue from a gentleman named Ingvar telling me that the church was being rebuilt as a school project.  The construction was being done from the original drawings and using the methods that were the norm when the church was first built.  Additionally, all of the metal that was salvaged from the old church was being used in the new construction.  This was outstanding news and I am so happy that when I return to visit in a few years that Krýsuvíkurkirkja will have been reborn.

Thank you, Ingvar, for sharing this news and I continue to hear about the progress that is being made to restore her past beauty.

So in the same geographic location, I pull up the San Francisco Chronicle’s website and on the front page they have a travel story on Iceland.  Of course, I’m always curious to see if an author gets it right–occasionally they don’t quite hit the mark.  But this guy does.  His imagery is awesome.  The embedded video is outstanding.  Well worth the few minutes it would take to watch it.  It sort of gives you a sneak peak as to why I fell in love with the island the way I did.

Have a great week and I’ll try to sneak in a post or two as the week goes by.

About the Image:
This is a different crop of my only really good of Krýsuvíkurkirkja, shot during the summer of 2004.  This is from a film scan so the technical details are lost to eternity.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 5:30 am

    Thanks for sharing your story and the article with the beautiful video. Funny enough I was there in August 2012, too. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

