Skip to content

Give Me Patience and Give It To Me Now!

April 6, 2013
Blue-ringed Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue-ringed Dancer

So I’ve been looking forward to the weekend since, oh, I don’t know, last weekend.  Weather forecast was supposed to be awesome all weekend.  And then Saturday showed up with the dreaded, “AM Clouds, PM Sun” forecast.  Oh heck, not again.

But I made the decision I was going to Uvalde today, weather be darned.  Didn’t see the sun for a single minute while I was at Cook’s Slough Nature Park.  Not a single minute.

Nor did I see any significant number of insects (or birds for that matter) at Cook’s Slough all morning.  Bother.

So after a chance meeting at the park with a person who I’ve been corresponding with over the last couple of years, I decided that this was a perfect time to use some patience.  I went into town, found some lunch, and returned hoping that the weather.com forecast of sun in the afternoon would come to pass.

Nope.  Not a bit of direct sunlight.

But thankfully my patience at least partially paid off as I did get a few insects in the afternoon.  The most common odonate for the afternoon were Rambur’s Forktails. Had about a dozen of them.  These were augmented with a couple Familiar Bluets, a couple Blue-ringed Dancers, and a single solitary Desert Firetail.  I also think I got a Kiowa Dancer, but the image was barely passable and I couldn’t confirm a positive ID if I wanted to.

I saw a couple of dragonflies along the way, but nothing that would perch and with an absence of any significant rays of sun I couldn’t make a positive ID on them, either.

Unidentified Grasshopper

© jmillerphoto.com – Unidentified Grasshopper

But still it was a decent walk.  4 miles or so says my phone app.  And a few usable images, though I would like to have had more.

I’m still not completely sure where I will venture tomorrow, but I have two locations in particular identified and I may just go to both of them if I have the time and the requisite initiative.  And sunlight.  And patience.

About the Image:
The Blue-ringed Dancer (Argia sedula) was reasonably cooperative with me.  As always, the standard gear was employed on the tripod.  The flash was mounted to the camera but was not used for this particular shot.  ISO 400, 1/125 at f/14.  The unidentified grasshopper at the end of the post keeps my run of decent grasshopper shots over the last few photo shoots.  Also the standard gear without flash and also ISO 400, 1/125 at f/14.  No, I didn’t plan it that way 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. JBPhotography permalink
    April 7, 2013 10:02 am

    Love the title of this post!

Leave a Reply

