Skip to content

Weathering the Storms…

April 28, 2013
Mourning Dove

© jmillerphoto.com – Mourning Dove

Just another no-shooting weekend in this neck of the woods.  Not that I’m complaining.  I promise I’m not.

Yesterday was cloudy all day with a strong chance of thunderstorms.  Not weather that promotes good light or good images, so instead I worked on old images and took care of open items on the ever infamous Hunnadew list.

And then last night the heavens opened up throughout South Texas, bringing almost 1.75″ of rain (about 4.5 cm) to my neighborhood.  And we needed that rain in the worst way so I was happy that it showed up.  Other parts of my general shooting area got similarly drenched and more rain was falling this morning south of here where they could really use the liquid sunshine.

So this morning I am again working on images, pieces of that Hunnadew list, and contemplating where I might go over an 8 day stretch starting next Saturday and ending the following Saturday.  And all things considered, getting the chance to look at some of these images again is worth the day off from being in the field.  Almost.

About the Image:
This Mourning Dove (Zenaida macroura) was from a shoot that I made over a year ago at Pedernales Falls State ParkStandard Gear was employed on the tripod.  Technical data was ISO 400, 1/400 sec @ f/7.1.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

