Skip to content

Let The Games Begin

May 3, 2013
Blue-fronted Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue-fronted Dancer (Female)

My annual spring photo binge has begun.  As my tradition nearly every spring (minus the 2 years when I was in grad school up in Ohio) I am taking 40 vacation hours this coming week and am going to try to shoot for 9 days in a row.  Mother Nature usually gets in the way at least one of those days as it did last year.  And one of those days will be partially spent with some business that can only be resolved during the week.  But gosh darn it, I’m gonna try to put as many images in the can as possible to work when the weather is too hot or frankly I just can’t get motivated.

So where is the first stop?  To find out you will have to read tomorrow’s entry 🙂

About the Image:
This lady Blue-fronted Dancer (Argia apicalis) was part of the images I shot a couple of weekends ago at Hornsby Bend Bird Observatory in Austin, Texas.  I hate making images with the insects sitting directly on the ground, but I can almost work with the specimen if it finds a perch, any perch, above terra firma.  In this case, the relatively large rock met that criteria.  The Standard Gear was used, as usual.  My flash was mounted for this shot and helped to fill in some of the shadows the mid-day sun created for me.  And as with 99 44/100% of my shots, the camera was mounted firmly on the tripod.  The technical data was ISO 400, 1/400 sec at  f/18.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 3, 2013 11:33 pm

    Beautiful photograph.

Leave a Reply

