Skip to content

Spring Photo Binge Day 2: Mitchell Lake Audubon Center

May 5, 2013
Fatal Metalmark

© jmillerphoto.com – Fatal Metalmark butterfly

Today was another solid day of shooting.  My travels took me a little closer to home today than yesterday with a quick jaunt up to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center (MLAC) in San Antonio, Texas.

As regular readers of this blog know, I probably visit MLAC about once a month, regardless of the season.  And since it was close and since yesterday’s drive took a little bit more out of me than I was willing to admit, I decided MLAC would be a good Day #2 destination.

And things more or less worked out okay.  Very few dragonflies out still, but I did make images of 2 species (Eastern Amberwing and Roseate Skimmer).  I could also identify 3 others that were flying around, but just weren’t nice enough to perch for me.  Give it a couple more weeks and that will all change.

Butterflies were around in decent numbers, but not like my spectacular visit back in late November when the gardens in front of the visitor center were alive.

Today marked the 2nd day in a row of using the macro tube almost exclusively through the day.  And for the most part it worked out very well.  But I missed a number of bird shots because what makes the macro tube so effective close up makes it almost unusable at infinity.  For the insects it is a good trade-off.  But at Mitchell Lake there are always a few bird opportunities and frankly I missed them today.

All in all it was a good day of shooting.  3.5 miles more on the books for the Spring Photo Binge ’13 Edition, bringing me up to 7.3 miles so far.  I anticipate tomorrow there will be very little in the way of walking as the 2 or 3 places I have scouted out for tomorrow will be sitting affairs.  But as always, you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to figure out where.

About the Image:
This Fatal Metalmark butterfly (Calephelis nemesis) was very cooperative and allowed me to make images from 2 different perches.  I had a beat on a couple Fatals yesterday at Cook’s, but neither one panned out.  As mentioned above, I was using the Canon Macro Extension Tubes along with the Standard Gear, on the tripod.  Technical details were ISO 400, 1/160 sec at  f/14 with no flash.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2013 8:59 am

    Hi Jim I have nominated you for the supersweetbloggeraward. I do hope you will accept http://aristonorganic.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/supersweetblogger-award/

Trackbacks

  1. supersweetblogger award | aristonorganic

Leave a Reply

