Skip to content

Spring Photo Binge Day 4: Medina River Natural Area

May 7, 2013
Powdered Dancer damselfly

© jmillerphoto.com – Powdered Dancer damselfly (male)

I knew going in that today was going to be challenging.  I had business to attend to in Kingsville and it had the potential to take some time.  My thought was that I could go to Kingsville and then stop off at a place (or two) in Corpus Christi that I’ve been meaning to check out for photography.  But I still had to be home by a specific time to make another piece of the puzzle work.

Getting to and taking care of business in Kingsville took longer than expected.  So the stop off in Corpus didn’t materialize.

Undaunted, I instead went with what was behind Curtain #2: A stop at Medina River Natural Area (MRNA).

MRNA continues to be a great last-minute fall back location for me and my photography.  Close to the homestead, open 7 days a week until sunset, and plenty of decent photo opportunities.

This trip did not disappoint.  I lost some time on the trails because I stopped to talk with a bike rider (actually, he stopped me, but…) to discuss the vest I wear, the positives of carbon fiber vice metal tripods, and a couple of other topics.  Once I got on the trail I broke with tradition and started my walking loop where I normally end it.

Photo opportunities were okay.  There were mostly only damsels along the river.  My favorite spot for making Rubyspot images has been lost to the river after this past year’s storms–it is now an island in the river and it too will likely give way soon.  Once I got back up on the paved trail I ran into three different species of dragonflies and one cantankerous Armadillo–which got scared off the concrete path as a bike rider went roaring past me–no photo evidence here 😦

It was a good 2.5 mile walk with a few dandy images.  Weather may be a problem tomorrow and for the rest of the week.  We’ll see where next is (or whether there is a next).

About the Image:
Powdered Dancers (Argia moesta) have now taken the lead with 3 images this calendar year on the blog.  Yet all three have been from different classes of damsel:  Female, Immature Male, and now Mature Male.  I like both the perch he was sitting on as well as the background blur.  Fun shot.  Tech details are the Standard Gear, on the tripod, with flash mounted but not used on this image.  Macro extension tube was used.  ISO 400, 1/80 sec at  f/22.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2013 6:04 am

    Such a beautiful color. Dragonflies are so wonderful. I love to have them land on me so that I can get a closer look. This is a great shot. Thank you.

  2. May 16, 2013 4:05 am

    tats a beautiful specimen

Leave a Reply

