Skip to content

You Look Mighty Familiar

May 18, 2013
Familliar Bluet (Female)

© jmillerphoto.com – Familliar Bluet damselfly (Female)

I can’t deny it.  This week being back at work after my long photo binge was tough.  I sure missed being in the field, but at the same time I like to eat.  And since photography won’t pay all the bills (now, or in the near future I’m afraid), it was time to put the nose back to the grindstone and knock out a week’s worth of work.  Photography would be there on Saturday.  Hopefully.

I do not have an overly physical job, but Friday’s 9-to-5 was pretty tough on the body.  I spent far more time standing than I normally would.  Much of it was standing in one place.  That doesn’t work well with a surgically repaired foot that still isn’t 100%.

Also putting today in doubt was the weather forecast.  Yes, temperatures were going to be good.  But there was no telling when the sun was going to be out.  Once the sun did get out, the winds were predicted to be a little over what I consider good Ode shooting winds.  Really anything over 10 mph creates issues where I shoot.

As I got up this morning, the first step was going to be crucial.  Not too bad.  Pull back the curtains and I see hazy sunshine.  I guess I’ll make it a go.

My travels took me to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas.  In the best of situations with my foot squawking at me I would have hit a bird blind- -probably Pedernales Falls SP or South Llano River SP.  But I didn’t want to travel very far and with questions as to how much sunshine I was going to have I decided that I didn’t want to make a 2 hour car ride bet on a weather forecast.  When we lived up in San Angelo it would have been easy–I just would have gone to San Angelo SP and sat in the blind.  In fact, cloudy weather in that blind made the shooting better rather than worse.  But MLAC was a good compromise.  Close enough that if it didn’t work out I wouldn’t feel that bad about the morning and short enough hikes that would allow me to cut things off in mid-hike if the pain got up too high.

I walked both the bird pond and completely around the East Polder.  Part of this was weather–the winds did arrive as predicted making insect photography difficult.  But part of it was the foot.  Pain is nature’s way of saying, “Slow down, Man.”  So I did.

It wasn’t my best day of shooting in terms of number of shots nor species spread, but it did give me a lot of positive feelings on the day.

The dragonflies are starting to make their presence known.  I think I got up to a half-dozen different species on the day which means things are looking up.  Quantity is still not up, and many of the usual suspects (Eastern Pondhawk and Blue Dashers to name two) still have not made their arrivals.  But the Eastern Amberwings were out in force as were the Four-spotted Pennants.  Common Whitetails, Roseate Skimmers, and Red-tailed Pennants were as well.

But the odonate of the day was the Familiar Bluet.  They were out in significant numbers in multiple places around the center.  Love the pretty blue of the males, but even the almost white of the females makes for a nice shot.

Weather is a little unsettled for tomorrow, but I think I know where I’m headed.  Hope you’ll join me for the recap once I get back.

About the Image:
This female Familiar Bluet (Enallagma civile) posed really nice for me over by the bird pond at MLAC.  Today I was using the Standard Gear, flash mounted but did not fire for this particular shot.  Technical details were ISO 400, 1/160 sec at  f/14.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Renard Moreau permalink
    May 18, 2013 7:48 pm

    [ Smiles ] This is a beautiful photo of an insect!

  2. May 18, 2013 10:02 pm

    I love your photographs. I am crazy about dragons and your shots give me a great deal of pleasure. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

