Skip to content

Too Much of a Good Thing Can Be… Too Much

May 26, 2013
Unidentified Insect

© jmillerphoto.com –  Largus succinctus

I’m taking this weekend off.  And I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Well, I’m sort of taking the weekend off.

I made the decision early in the week that I wasn’t going into the field this weekend.  At the time I made the decision the weather forecast looked good.  And there are certainly more things to make images of.  But I once again looked at my stack of images that need to be worked and said to myself, “My gawd man, you’re going to be dead before you get to all of these.”

So the plan was in place.  And I started to get second thoughts–I sure like getting out to shoot.  But then we got some serious rain on Friday in and around the Alamo City.  About 2.25″ (5.7 cm) worth of the liquid sunshine as measured at the airport.  And I think to myself, “Awesome.  That will get us close to normal and will help the odonata for the rest of the season.  But that certainly cements the fact I won’t be going out this weekend…the trails will be soupy.”  It was kind of a long thought.

And then we got some really serious rain Saturday.  Just short of 10″ (25 cm) at the airport, busting the daily and monthly records for the city and the 2nd highest ever.  With news of a couple of folks dead and many others dealing with property damage, it puts things in a completely different perspective.

So this weekend, as planned, I’m sitting in front of the computer.  I’m going through the last part of my harvesting process, bringing images together to be used for prints and or stock licensing.  The prints part has been tough because of the weather being as bad as it was–tough to get where I have the images printed if the roads aren’t passable.

I also need some time to reflect on the year so far, address where I’ve been, where I want to go, and how I can get there from here.  There are a bunch of places on the agenda that I still haven’t fit into the schedule.  This includes both places I’ve never been and some favorites that I just haven’t gotten around to.  Lost Maples SNA is one of those places I still haven’t made it to that I promised I would have visited at least a couple of times by now.  I’m still hoping to make it out to Brazos Bend, though the later we go the hotter it’s going to get and there is a limit to my heat tolerance.

Speaking of reflecting, this is the weekend dedicated to remembering those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for the freedoms we enjoy in this country and many others places throughout the world.

About the Image:
I take pride in being able to identify the images I present here.  This one has me stumped.  Mostly because it is outside of my normal insect specialties.  But partially because I’m just not smart enough to get the right Google search terms to find it.  So it stands as Unidentified.  The standard gear was employed with the inclusion of the 25mm macro extension tube but no flash.  Tech details are ISO 400, 1/125 sec at f/8
.

Update:  With a bread crumb to follow from Marc Arbuckle, I’m tentatively identifying this bug as Largus succinctus.  Thanks for the assist, Marc.  I also encourage you, the dear reader, to check out Marc’s blog.  Great imagery.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2013 5:19 pm

    I don’t know what it is either, but I’m pretty sure I have a picture of one too. I went out today, and it was rather unpleasant. Very muggy and just missed getting drenched. I think your stay at home decision was a good one!

  2. May 27, 2013 3:29 pm

    Hello Jim, It’s what is classified as true bug, from the family Hemiptera. In England I’d look under shield bugs. I think in the USA you have stink bugs that belong to this same family. Hope this helps you track it down to a species.

    • May 27, 2013 5:41 pm

      Thank you for both stopping by and getting me to the correct family, Marc. It is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

