Skip to content

Adobe Still Doesn’t Get It, But Corel Does

May 29, 2013
Painted Bunting

© jmillerphoto.com – Painted Bunting

It is another busy work week so I don’t have a lot of time to write.  So instead I’m going to point you to an article about Adobe’s, um, failure to listen to customer feedback.  Stephen Shankland at CNET has an outstanding article regarding Adobe’s misadventure in subscription licensing.

In short, they don’t care.  The article title says their response is, “Tough beans.” I’m guessing my title would have been, um, different (and not nearly as polite).

Allegedly they will be making some tweaks for hobbyist photographers, but I’m not holding my breath and I can only imagine the strings that might be attached.

But overall their business model is built around monthly income rather than making their loyal long-term customers happy.  Yes, the sound you hear is the a goose with a penchant for laying golden eggs squawking about his neck being on the chopping block.  He won’t be squawking for long.

Mr. Shankland hits a number of points that I’ve made in these pages and it is a really good read.  I highly recommend it.

In conspicuously related news, Corel is offering their various graphics software packages at significant discounts and is now offering deep discounts to schools.  Back in the day I was a big fan of Paint Shop Pro–most of my early websites were made with graphics generated with that software.  The photo editing was passable though not great.  I eventually graduated to Photoshop Elements and then to the CS line.  But Corel has made big improvements over the years.  They even have a RAW processing program and <gasp> it runs in Linux.  Maybe this is the bridge off of Windows.  And maybe it will be worth the $50 it would take to give it a spin.  Hmmm….

I have photo shoots planned for the weekend and the weather looks like it is going to be good.  My list of great blog subjects keeps growing.  I just wish my free time would grow as quickly.

About the Image:
This is another shot from my Spring Photo Binge.  This was again Day 3 at South Llano River SP.  What an awesome place to shoot images in what are the best public blinds in all of Texas.  And there’s nothing like great images of my buddy PaBu, also known as the Painted Bunting (Passerina ciris).  As always it was shot off of the Standard Gear with no flash but on the tripod.  Technical details are ISO 400, 1/80 sec at  f/8.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2013 8:22 pm

    Absolutely incredible! Seriously gorgeous.

Trackbacks

  1. Adobe is Eating Crow with the Creative Cloud They’re Serving | Stills, Words, and Motion

Leave a Reply

