Skip to content

Hey You With The Tripod

June 1, 2013
Powdered Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Powdered Dancer damselfly (Male)

I had planned on getting out this morning, but circumstances put that on hold until late afternoon.  Given the short time I had, I chose Medina River Natural Area (MRNA) in San Antonio, Texas.  It had been a few weeks since I’d been out there and I wanted to see what was up.

Holy cow was it hot.  I was sweating like an IRS administrator at a Tea Party rally.  I was so glad the Camelbak was full of ice water, quenching my thirst as I went along.  I could have really used a cold Gatorade at the end, but oh well, those are the breaks.  In retrospect I probably should have grabbed both my flash and my extension tubes.  But i failed at that level of preparation.  An old boss of mine called that a violation of the 5 P’s:  Proper planning prevents poor performance.

But all in all the performance was not poor.  Just the opposite.  I had some really nice images today of a narrow variety of damselflies.  Blue-fronted Dancers, Blue-ringed Dancers, and Powdered Dancers.  I saw a Clubtail of some sort, a couple of Common Whitetails, and what was probably a Red Saddlebags, but not a one of them would perch for me.  Darn it.

I also had a brief discussion with the park police regarding the fact I was in possession of a tripod (in spite of the fact that there is no rule or regulation prohibiting them).  That will be a blog post for another time.

About the Image:
This is probably my favorite shot of the day.  This beautiful Powdered Dancer (Argia moesta) was nice enough to find a perch for me with good light and a great background.  The Standard Gear was used, minus both flash and extension tubes.  Tech data was ISO 400, 1/320 sec at  f/13
.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

