Skip to content

The Wet Wake-up

June 2, 2013
Spotted Whiptail

© jmillerphoto.com – Spotted Whiptail Portrait

So I went to sleep last night thinking, “Sunday is going to be outstanding day for photography.”  The forecast was good.  Winds were supposed to be down.  Rain seemed to be tracking well to the west of us.  No worries, right?

Wrong.

The sound greeting me on the window at about 6AM this morning was that of liquid sunshine rather than the warm rays of Sol.  With the trails still pretty drenched from last weekend (parts of the trails at MRNA were quite the adventure yesterday), I’ve decided today is a good day to further catch up on some photo editing, write a couple of blog posts for the week, and otherwise stay indoors rather than venturing outdoors.  Maybe, just maybe, if things are looking good in the afternoon I might wander out.

I’m not complaining.  I promise.  As I’ve said in this blog before and I will certainly say again, there is no such thing as bad rain in south Texas.  And I am especially happy that the rain is moving south, hopefully giving my friends down in the Lower Rio Grande Valley a good drenching as well–they desperately need it.  Not to mention that I tore up my body pretty bad on Friday with the mother of all Hunnadews–organizing the garage.  Getting out onto the trails and especially lifting the tripod was a bit of a challenge.  A day with my backside firmly planted in the chair sounds like a really good idea.

About the Image:
This was one of the first images that I shot yesterday at Medina River Natural Area (MRNA).  One of the great things about MRNA is that when the trails are a little torn up there is still the long stretch of concrete that runs from the parking lot off of Palo Alto Rd to well past Applewhite Road, providing a dry and reasonably safe path to shoot images from.  It was on the very beginning of the concrete path where I found this Texas Spotted Whiptail lizard (Cnemidophorus gularis).  He didn’t stick around long, though they rarely ever do.  This one did get mighty close to me, fooled by the clothing I was wearing and my ability to stay reasonably still.  This image is still a significant crop and I had to do more to the brightness levels than I normally like to.  But I think he still holds up pretty good.  As always this was on the Standard Gear, no flash or macro tubes.  Technical data was ISO 400, 1/640 sec at  f/5.6, but then with 1.25 stops of exposure compensation added as the meter was fooled by the white concrete path.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2013 11:27 am

    I’m in love. With a Spotted Whiptail. I am crazy about lizards. This one is so lovely with the pink blush and beautify stripes and spots. Thank you so much for this great photograph.

    • June 2, 2013 9:35 pm

      You are very welcome. Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words.

  2. June 2, 2013 5:40 pm

    Nice portrait of a gorgeous lizard. What kind of clothing were you wearing that he didn’t “see” you?

    • June 2, 2013 9:38 pm

      My Danner Pronghorn boots and a pair of modern camouflage pattern pants. I’m certain he didn’t see me because he darn near crawled up on my boot.

Leave a Reply

