Skip to content

Proof That Adobe Doesn’t Always Get It Wrong…

June 10, 2013
Great Egret

© jmillerphoto.com – Great Egret

Just a quick post with some news tonight.  Adobe released Lightroom 5 as a standalone product with a perpetual license (i.e. buying your software instead of renting it) fairly late last night.  Cash Cow, er, Creative Cloud subscribers get it for free (while they’re renting their software…not sure after they stop paying the fee).  Smart people who like to buy their software can buy an upgrade for $80.  People just starting with Lightroom will have to pay $150.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I am a huge fan of Lightroom.  I am still using Lightroom 3.  I own a copy of Lightroom 4 but I have not installed it yet.  I don’t want to fool around with my workflow during the height of my shooting season so I’ll wait until autumn to install it.  Will I buy Lightroom 5 any time soon?  Probably not.  I’m still pretty upset with Adobe.  I just don’t have the stomach to put any more money into their coffers at this point.  Especially when I’m really happy with the tool that I’m using right now and have a new tool that I haven’t even taken out of it’s wrapper yet.

Hopefully I’ll have another post up before the end of the week.  It is in partial draft, but I need to find the time to finish it…

About the Image:
I made this image of a Great Egret (Ardea alba) at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center back in February, cropped it for the blog, but never used it.  This was another case of my having too much lens for the bird and a case of a well-meaning person scaring off my model before I was done with it.  Alas, such is life.  As always this was on the Standard Gear, shooting from the tripod, with no flash.  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/3200 sec at  f/9.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

