Skip to content

Everyone Knows It’s Windy

June 22, 2013
Banded Pennant

© jmillerphoto.com – Banded Pennant dragonfly

So after a really good set of mid-week photo shoots, I was hoping I again would have some luck today out on the trails at Lost Maples State Natural Area near Vanderpool, Texas.  It would be my first visit for the year and I had some awesome luck out there last year.

As I left the house this morning I could feel the wind being a little stronger than I like and the sun being a little more obscured than I like.  And I’m thinking, “Oh please let the weather cooperate today.”

It didn’t.

Today was a struggle.  The strongest of the winds weren’t supposed to be in the area until mid-afternoon, but they were out in force early this morning.  That increased the challenge that comes with getting images of damsels and dragons sharp.

Dragon and damsel numbers were fewer than I had hoped for as well, but that may very well be a product of the cooler morning temperatures and the lack of sunlight.

But hey, it was an awesome walk in an awesome park, I got some great images, and I really enjoyed myself.  And all things considered that is always going to be a win.

And for those who remember the 60’s song of the same name as the title of tonight’s entry, you will know that it’s just a case of guilt by Association.

About the Image:
It has been a while since I’ve seen a Banded Pennant (Celithemis fasciata) which is a shame because this is a gorgeous dragonfly.  I wish there had been less wind, but this spot was protected at least a little bit from the gusts.  The perch was perfect and the background could not have been better.  No Photoshop Ninja tricks here–it is what it was.  As always, the Standard Gear was employed and mounted on a tripod.  I contemplated, briefly, using the flash and/or the macro extension tube (I had both), but instead I left it as it was.  Technical details are ISO 400, 1/250 sec at  f/13.  With as much light as I had I normally would have stopped down the aperture another stop or two (I bet I could have had wing-to-wing sharpness at f/18), but the wind made shutter speed more important than the aperture opening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2013 10:03 pm

    Amazing, as always.

Leave a Reply

