Skip to content

Of Photo Binges and Long Travels

July 21, 2013
Robber Fly

© jmillerphoto.com – Robber Fly

I have been away from the keyboard for far too long and for that I do apologize.  The last couple of weeks have been hectic, though mostly in a good way.  I have tried to put together a blog post or two (or three), but something seems to interrupt me in the middle and by the time I get back I can’t find the momentum to finish.  So let’s try one more time…

Over the Independence Day weekend, I managed to find a way to get out for five different photo shoots.  That involved the holiday (Thursday), some well-earned compensatory time off (Wednesday afternoon and Friday), and my standard weekend.  I also had a free day for my birthday that allowed me to shoot the following Wednesday.  So really six days of shooting over an 8 day timeframe.  Not too shabby.  On those six days of shooting I shot at Medina River Natural Area (twice) Cibolo Nature Center, Mitchell Lake Audubon Center, Crescent Bend Nature Park, and Luling River Park.  I also had short scouting trips at Walker Ranch Historic Landmark Park and Olmos Basin Park.  The shooting was primarily odonata, but there were some special surprises here and there with other subjects.  I won’t get into deep discussions about all of the stops, but some of my favorite images are here.

Eastern Cottontail

© jmillerphoto.com – Eastern Cottontail

Familiar Bluet

© jmillerphoto.com – Familiar Bluet

Widow Skimmer

© jmillerphoto.com – Widow Skimmer

Roseate Skimmer

© jmillerphoto.com – Roseate Skimmer

Powdered Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Powdered Dancer

Grasshopper

© jmillerphoto – Unidentified Grasshopper

So then last weekend my travels took me back up to Tom Green County where I shot once again at Middle Concho Park.  Decent outing, but it didn’t last nearly long enough for my taste.  Unfortunately I had to be on the road much quicker than I had anticipated prior to meet some family obligations.

That started my 7 days of heavy road work.  To include last night (okay… technically into this morning but it was still within a 168 hour time frame) I was either passenger or driver for two 300+ mile trips and two 400+ mile trips. Wedge in there three long days of work (trying to make up for the two vacation days I took  for the two 300+ mile days) and friends I am one tired individual.  And with the exception of last Sunday, there was not a single bit of shooting involved.  I had hoped to get some shooting in on the trip that concluded in the wee hours of the morning, but poor planning on my part kept that from happening.

This morning was gorgeous, but (a) I was far too tired for words and (b) I know I had a lot of things that I have neglected over the last week that I need to take care of.  And frankly, as the day progressed it wasn’t really all that great, anyway.  So today was all about getting caught up from last week and prepared for both the coming week and for future travels.  I also found some time while I was on the road to work on a Magnificent Seven post.  Hopefully I can find a few minutes here or there to finish it out, add the images, and get it posted this week as well.

About the Images:
Okay, I guess I posted a few images…  All were with the Standard Gear, on the tripod and without flash.  Starting with the Robber Fly, Eastern Cottontail, and Familiar Bluet.  All were shot at Medina River Natural Area over about an 18 hour period (Wednesday night/Thursday morning).  The technical data on the Robber Fly (Efferia aestuans) was ISO 400, 1/250 sec at  f/9.  The Cottontail (Sylvilagus floridanus) came in at ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/5.6.  And the Familiar Bluet (Enallagma civile) tech data was ISO 400, 1/160 sec at f/14.  The Widow Skimmer (Libellula luctuosa) was shot Friday morning in what was really an outstanding morning at Cibolo Nature Center.  I wish all of my trips into the Boerne/Kendall County area were as productive as this one.  Tech data was ISO 400, 1/125 sec at  f/14.  The Roseate Skimmer (Orthemis ferruginea) was from Saturday morning at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center.  Great morning of shooting and this was but the tip of the iceberg for images from there.  Tech data was ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/16.  The Powdered Dancer (Argia moesta) image was made at Crescent Bend Nature Park out in the Schertz area of Bexar County.  I’ve made a lot of Powdered Dancer images, but the perch on this one was very unique.  Tech data was ISO 400, 1/80 sec at f/14.  And last, but certainly not least, was this very photogenic grasshopper which I’m still working to identify.  His Sinatra-like blue eyes were priceless.  ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/10.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 7:23 am

    Pictures are wonderful. The grasshopper is so beautiful and the bunny. The dragons are lovely and the weird fly is…fuzzy…with scary legs.

  2. July 27, 2013 6:37 pm

    I love your photos!

Leave a Reply

