Skip to content

Weekend Musings

October 27, 2013
Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia)

© jmillerphoto.com – Burrowing Owl

It certainly not the most productive of weekends.  I had a planned medical procedure Friday evening.  Nothing special, honestly.  Easy enough that we could schedule it for the evening and I wouldn’t miss any time at work.

However, it took enough out of me that I was too tired to go out Saturday morning (or anything else productive).  After a good solid nap or two, I spent Saturday night up in Austin celebrating the nuptials of a good friend and his bride, but was ready to rock and roll Sunday morning.  But the weather was not all that great when I was going to head out and I just got into the mindset that I was going to knock down some tasks and research topics that had been building up around the house.  The weather did get better, but I didn’t venture out.

Tricolored Heron (Egretta tricolor)

© jmillerphoto.com – Tricolored Heron

So no new images from this weekend. Instead I worked on some older images and more or less tried to get my computer put back together after the 8.1 update.  I was also running out of space in my image archive drive so I did some rearranging here and there.

A couple of thoughts on various topics.

Austin is a mighty pretty city at night.  I was disappointed that I didn’t have time to bring a camera and capture some of what I saw.  Perhaps that needs to be a project for sometime down the road.

My thanks to USAA for an outstanding extended visit at their campus in San Antonio at the end of last week.  Talk about a top-notch organization from top to bottom.  Wow!  I won’t get into the why’s or what for’s, but it was very informative and enjoyable.  I don’t think I’ve felt more welcome anywhere in a very long time.  If not happily engaged with my current organization I would be doing my darnedest to go to work for them.  Thank you again, USAA.

I received an interesting survey from Adobe.  It had language at the beginning that resembled a Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA), asking not to share the contents so as to not tip their hand about the future.  I understand the request and I will respect their wishes and will not discuss the contents therein.  I will only say that it was interesting and I’ll be curious to see exactly what comes from it.

Apple’s IOS v 7.0.3 is a winner.  I had put off updating to IOS 7 for a while.  I have an older phone and I had heard some ugly things about it.  But this morning I threw caution to the wind and downloaded the update.  And generally I am pleased with it.  The icons are certainly different.  Performance is maybe a hair slower.  But there are some features I really like on it.  It is making me more likely to belly up to the bar and upgrade to the iPhone 5S.  Perhaps after the holiday buying season.

Next week promises to be interesting.  November will be here before I get to go out and shoot again.  I’m thinking a bird blind somewhere, but we’ll see how it all goes down.

About the Images:
It is a rare post indeed when I can post two life list adds, but that is how this post turned out.  Both images were shot with the Standard Gear with no flash.  The first image is a Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) made on my trip back to California a couple of weeks ago.  I would have loved to have gotten closer, but I also didn’t want to irritate the bird any more than it undoubtedly was.  I also would have like to have gotten there a couple hours earlier, but that seems to be a normal thing for me.  Unlike nearly all other images I make, this one was made quasi-handheld (the lens rested on the window of the car I was in).  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/1000 sec at f/9.  The lower image of the juvenile Tricolored Heron (Egretta tricolor) was shot back in September at Cook’s Slough.  This was a case of not knowing exactly what I had at the time, but as I reviewed the images this morning I realized that it wasn’t the Green Heron I thought it was at the time.  This was shot on the tripod, ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/13.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2013 9:28 pm

    Photographs are beautiful. The owl is adorable.

  2. October 29, 2013 8:18 pm

    Lovely photos! Both would be lifers for me. I must go down south sometime to see all the wonderful waders and dragonflies!

    • October 30, 2013 5:31 pm

      A trip down to Texas in the late summer/early fall is a journey worth taking in search of both sets of wonderful creatures. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

