Skip to content

Yawn. My Life in Technicolor.

November 9, 2013
House Finch

© jmillerphoto.com – House Finch

Back at the keyboard at least for a little while this morning.  I am at the house recovering from one of the nastiest stomach viruses I’ve had in years.  I’m usually pretty immune to these things, but this time around it hit me and hit me hard.  So this morning I’m taking in fluids, doing some light cleaning, and more or less hanging out.

Last weekend was very much a blur.  Saturday’s weather wasn’t favorable for photography and my Sunday was a very quick trip up to Pedernales Falls SP with family who was in town.  I shot maybe 4 dozen images.  Not a lot of bird action, but also we showed up reasonably late and there was a lot of noise in the blind.  Speaking of blinds, I saw an outstanding article over at Digital Photography School entitled Bird Photography Near Feeders. Very good little article and some very impressive photography.  Certainly worth a read if you have a few minutes.

Couple of other notes from the past week or so:

  • Adobe admitted that 38 million accounts were affected by their recent security breach.  3 million was bad.  38 million???  Holy cow!  Gosh guys, hire a CISSP, why don’t ya?
  • My post-Windows 8.1 update woes continue.  I went to plug in my memory card from last weekend’s shoot, only to find that the card reader was dead.  Dead as Fred.  So after a little troubleshooting, I figured out that Windows 8.1 had killed by USB 3 ports.  Took me some time, but a quick driver update and I was rolling again.  This is somewhat unavoidable because of the open nature of Windows.  But very annoying.

If I’m feeling better I may try to get out at some point this holiday weekend.  I have some family business to attend to south of town tomorrow, but I still may be able to get an image or two into the camera.  I have Monday off as well with the holiday weekend so perhaps I will find a bird blind to haunt.

Speaking of the holiday, take a few minutes this weekend to thank a Veteran.  We are lucky to have two days every year to remember those who have served our country in the uniformed services.  In May, we remember those who paid the ultimate sacrifice.  In November, we remember all who wore the uniform.  Regardless of whether they saw combat.  Regardless of whether they served for 30 hours or 30 years.    Take just a minute or two to thank someone who has served.

About the Image:
I have not had a House Finch (Carpodacus mexicanus) on these pages this year.  A very common bird in much of the United States, and very much so here in Texas.  This was shot at Pedernales Falls SP in the newer of the two bird blinds.  The Standard Gear was used, as always, on the tripod without flash.  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/250 sec at f/11
.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2013 11:15 am

    Lovely bird and photo. Sadly two common birds from my youth, the House Sparrow, Passer domesticus and the Starling, Sturnus vulgaris, were once so common that we pretty much took them for granted. Both are now rare in England and on red status.

    • November 9, 2013 11:43 am

      Thank you, Mark. In the States we have quite the opposite problem. Passer domesticus and Sturnus vulgaris were imported into the U.S. and then “liberated” from their cages, and both are doing so remarkably well that they are pushing out other species of birds. Beautiful birds, but victims of their own success.

      • November 9, 2013 11:50 am

        Yes, in many instances where ‘alien’ species have been introduced there have been unforeseen and often tragic consequences as a result.

    • November 9, 2013 6:52 pm

      I knew the House Sparrow was declining in England, but didn’t realize the starling was too. In Canada the House Sparrow is declining as well, and we aren’t sure why. People in my club (the Ottawa Field-Naturalists’ Club) actually have to make a special effort to find them on the Christmas bird count. I used to get lots at my feeders throughout the year, now I get them occasionally in the summer when they are feeding their young; I usually don’t see any in the winter.

      • November 9, 2013 8:48 pm

        And I was unaware that that the House Sparrows were declining in numbers in Canada. It will be interesting to see in coming years if there is a similar decline in the states that border the Great Lakes in the coming years. Thanks for the reply and insight, Gillian.

      • November 10, 2013 12:06 pm

        Sparrows enjoy the shelter of the Quince bush outside my window, particularly tearing the flowers off. Things would be very quiet without them.

  2. positivethinking13 permalink
    November 23, 2013 8:15 am

    Beautiful shots!! I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

