Skip to content

Blog Recommendation – Earth Light

November 25, 2013
Northern Cardinal

© jmillerphoto.com – Northern Cardinal

It is a Monday and thus I know that I won’t have any time tonight to step into the digital darkroom or frankly do much of anything else.  I’m still working for a living and Mondays for me haven’t changed much in the over quarter century since I started working.  Well, other than I don’t have a spatula in my hand and/or I’m not sitting behind a microphone.  Guess that is another story for another time, too.

So instead, may I offer you a respite from your workday or your evening after the workday, with another blog.  Today over at Earth Light, a blog by photographer and photo workshop leader Richard Bernabe, the author does a “mostly subjective, non-technical review and initial thoughts” on the Canon 200-400 f/4L IS USM Extender 1.4x Lens.  Yes, you almost need to take a breath after saying the name of the lens.  It is Canon’s $12,000 monstrosity of a lens that goes from a steady 200-400mm at f/4 to 280-560mm at f/5.6 with just the flip of a switch on the back on the lens.  Good work if you can find it, I say.  It is one of those lenses that really deep down I’d like to own, but at the listed purchase price there would be a death in the family (me) if I were to ever contemplate buying it.

However, Mr. Bernabe put it through its paces at Bosque del Apache NWR last month and his write-up this morning is a very good one.  So with your Monday morning coffee at your desk at the office (or with your Monday evening adult beverage if you don’t get to it until you get home), take a gander and enjoy his words about this lens.

I’m hoping to step back into the darkroom tomorrow night…

About the Image:
Yet another Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) from my trip to Pedernales Fall SP last weekend.  This isn’t a bad shot, except I don’t like the angle at which I was shooting her so I probably won’t use this image for anything other than this blog entry.  I’ve gotta stress I’m not griping, but this is where private blinds often are at the advantage over public blinds such as this one at Pedernales Falls SP.  Many of the really good private blinds have the photographer at or below ground level so the angle would be straight on vice the downward angle I used here.  As always, the Standard Gear was employed, on the tripod but with no flash.  ISO 400, 1/500 sec at f/8
.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2013 7:11 pm

    Adult beverage for one, please. I’ll check it out. I was so excited when they first announced this lens, as it was my dream lens. Little did I know it would cost almost twice as much as the Nikon. Even that is out of my range.

    • November 26, 2013 7:23 pm

      Definitely not inexpensive by any stretch of the imagination. But all of the new Canon glass seems to suffer from that problem. I’d have to have a lot more days in the field before I could justify that lens. But I can dream, right?

Leave a Reply

