Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – What is Old is New

November 29, 2013
Northern Cardinal

© jmillerphoto.com – Northern Cardinal

I did spend a couple of minutes in the darkroom yesterday.  I knew which Turkey image I wanted to use for the blog and I knew where it was, but the last time I edited for anything I wasn’t using my current dimensions nor my current processing techniques.  While stumbling around looking for the turkey image, I ran across the image that leads today’s blog.  Just another male Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis).  But the cool winter sky makes his red feathers pop.  If not for the hints of brown here and there, one might think I photoshopped out all but the red, black, and orange.  Not so much…just what nature gave me.

This again was with the Canon 30D with 300mm/1.4x extender combo at ISO 200.  Looking at the noise on this I was reminded at how much improvement Canon had made in noise suppression between the 30D and the 60D.  The rest of the technical specs are 1/125 sec at f/8, shot at South Llano River SP near Junction, Texas.

It reminded me that I have so very, very many images to go through.  Not just my 60D images which I am hip deep in right now.  But also my 30D images which go back yet another 2 years.

The image may make a nice print at 8×10.  It might scale up to 11×14, but probably not.  And it has been transformed into a dandy piece of wallpaper which will go into my rotation of images.

I haven’t spent a lot of time today in the darkroom.  Other tasks had me swamped.  No, none of it involved Black Friday shopping.  But there was a Christmas tree involved in the process and other loose ends to tie up.  Hoping to get some shooting in Saturday.  Not holding my breath though…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2013 11:43 pm

    I like ! Very beautiful !!!

Leave a Reply

