Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – Floating Back to Old Images

December 3, 2013
Rambur's Forktail

© jmillerphoto.com – Rambur’s Forktail w/Prey

Tonight I have been doing some mop up of images from May 2012.  I polished off the last couple of images for Photo Shoot #47 to Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde, Texas.  I had done some work to harvest out the good images on this particular shooting day, but had not finished the deal.  I was able to harvest a couple of more dragonflies out of the shoot, bringing me up to 6 good images from that day in the field.

I also started working on a photo walk from later in that same month at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas.  Tonight’s lead image of a Rambur’s Forktail damselfly (Ischnura ramburii) who was enjoying a meal.  There wasn’t a lot to do with this image to make it usable.  I had cropped the image a bit back last fall when I was going through images.  I sliced just a little bit more off of it.  I then did a little bit of grain reduction and sent it on to Photoshop where a nudge of level help was all it took for me to be happy with it.  Technical specs were the Standard Gear, ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/18.  In retrospect I probably should have backed off on the the aperture tightening to give me a little faster shot, but all in all it worked out okay.

I expect my Wednesday is going to be brutal, but I’ll still try to find my way back into the darkroom tomorrow night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

