Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – For the Birds

December 20, 2013
Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

Yes… another fairly lengthy absence.  But I can explain.  There was an earthquake, a hurricane, it wasn’t my fault.  Oh, wait a minute.  Sorry.  Wrong Movie.

No, just been really busy with life over the last couple of weeks.  My last outdoor photo shoot was back on November 30th at Pedernales Falls SP.  Christmas shopping, Christmas parties, and family business has taken up the bulk of my time.  Busy weeks at work as well and frankly not a lot of time (and not a lot of excess energy) to spend in the digital darkroom when I got home.

So tonight I did step back into the darkroom for a few minutes.  I concentrated on a short photo shoot I made back in January of this year at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas.

Okay, short may not be a great description.  I did spend a ton of time out there and took a really long walk.  But short does describe both the total number of images I shot that day and the number of good images I shot that day.

Of the quick walk through I made this evening I only saw two that I was really happy with.  I lead with one of those two with my Blue-gray Gnatcatcher.

It was a life-list add when I found it.  Unfortunately, they are tiny little things and I don’t have nearly enough glass to do it justice.  Thus the crop is extreme but it does make for some nice wallpaper.

I am hoping beyond hope that I’m going to get some shooting time in this weekend.  My thought is a bird blind only because my body is worn out after a lot of time working out this weekend.  Perhaps a bird blind somewhere…

About the Image:
The Blue-gray Gnatcatcher (Polioptila caerulea) was a nice find.  Technical specs were ISO 400, 1/1600 sec at  f/5.6, on the Standard Gear with the tripod.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2013 8:28 am

    So beautiful. Thank you. Happy holiday:)

    • December 21, 2013 9:40 am

      Thank you. A very safe, blessed, and happy holiday to you as well.

  2. December 21, 2013 10:15 am

    Wow, great job. Especially with one of the hardest to photograph birds! Happy Holidays!

    • December 21, 2013 10:39 am

      Thanks Jason. It teased me for a while and I really could have used another 100mm or so, but it turned out okay. Happy holidays to you & yours as well.

  3. December 23, 2013 11:39 am

    I think that image is a real keeper. No complaints here. Merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

