Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – Sulphur So Good

December 26, 2013
Orange Sulphur butterfly

© jmillerphoto.com – Orange Sulphur butterfly (feeding)

I hope that you had a wonderfully Merry Christmas.  I spent the last few days celebrating the holiday with friends and family, as well as reconnecting with friends far and near.

Today I also had the day off and my own personal celebration of Boxing Day was inside the digital darkroom.  Today I worked on images from a pair of trips I took to Mitchell Lake Audubon Center in San Antonio, Texas during February of this year.  Yes, I am that far behind but I am making progress 🙂

It was easy to work this pair of trips because both of the trips were relatively thin in terms of both numbers of shots and shots that I thought were worthy of being worked.  Both of these trips were big on, of all things, butterflies.  Yes, butterflies in February.  It is one of the distinct privileges of living in Texas, I guess.

The highlights of the session were the Orange Sulphur (Colias eurytheme) that leads this post and an image of a Black Swallowtail (Papilio polyxenes) that I may post another time. On this Orange Sulphur, I really didn’t have much to do.  I removed a few spots of dust in Lightroom, cropped it to my standard 4×5 orientation, and updated the meta data.  I then exported it over the Photoshop where I dabbled a little on the levels, added a touch of vibrance, cropped it a hair more, lightly sharpened it, and then saved it.  When you get it close in the camera, you don’t have to do a lot of work when you get it home.

There is still much more work to be done to plow through my backlog of images.  I’d like to get through March of this year before I reach February of next year 😉

About the Image:
I used the Standard Gear for this image, on the tripod as always but without flash.  The technical data was ISO 400, 1/800 sec at  f/13
.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 26, 2013 8:18 pm

    Beautiful. I love your birds, as well. Always a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

