Skip to content

Hello 2014!

January 1, 2014
Black-crested Titmouse

© jmillerphoto.com – Black-crested Titmouse

Hello  2014!  I’ve been waiting for you.

I’ve been thinking about you since about the time the dragonflies started to disappear for the season and the cool autumn winds started blowing.  Okay, this is South Texas.  Those breezes didn’t show up until December, but I was thinking about you long before then.

So what do I hope to find in you this year?

I hope to find more photographic opportunities.  2013 treated me very well in that regard.  I’m hoping you will treat me just as well if not better.

I hope to find a good solid of number of days out in the field.  My goal for 2013 was 48 trips into nature.  I’m hoping for the same for you, 2013.

I hope to get a handle on my backlog of images to process.  Frankly the backlog is epic in its proportions.  My greatest hope is I will be down to no more than 6 months behind.

And of course I hope to do a better job with a steadier stream of blog posts.  And there is much to write about whether it is some of my favorite places, some of my favorite images, where have I been lately, or what have I been working on lately.

So welcome, 2014.  I’m darn glad that you’re here.  I hope you were as good as 2013.

About the Image:
I’m starting off the new year with a relatively old image.  This image of a Black-crested Titmouse (Baeolophus atricristatus) was shot at San Angelo State Park in San Angelo, Texas back in September 2009.  It was an odd sort of shoot because I was home for a week or so tending to some family business and if memory serves I only got an hour or so out at the bird blind there.  But the delicate light here made the image special and reminded me of the new dawn that came with this new year.  Not to mention this little guy’s top hat on a day after a celebration.  On the gadget side, this was made with my old trusty Canon 30D with the EF 300mm f4 IS USM L lens and the 1.4x extender behind it.  Shot off the old tripod (Manfrotto 3021 Pro) but with my current tripod head.  Settings were ISO 200, 1/100 sec at f/6.3
.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2014 2:21 pm

    A Beautiful Way to start the New Year 🙂

  2. January 1, 2014 5:13 pm

    Wonderful bird !!

  3. January 3, 2014 7:13 pm

    Happy 2014, Jim! Count me in as another person who is looking forward to dragonfly season. Spring seems so far away!

    • January 3, 2014 7:50 pm

      Thanks Gillian and a Happy 2014 to you, too. For me it is probably around three months away. Hoping for an early season jaunt down to “The Valley” in March or maybe early April.

Leave a Reply

