Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – Shooting with a LISP

January 17, 2014
© jmillerphoto.com - Lincoln's Sparrow

© jmillerphoto.com – Lincoln’s Sparrow

I was blessed to get some time in the digital darkroom again tonight.  I didn’t have nearly the amount of energy that I did last night, but then again I didn’t have that last cup of coffee.  Instead I had a solid hour-long power walk in hopes of trying to get my endurance back up for the coming shooting season.  And after 4.5 miles (7.25 km for the metric system inclined) at a pretty brisk pace, I am understandably a bit tuckered out tonight.

I worked three images tonight.  The favorite of these was this image of the Lincoln’s Sparrow (Melospiza lincolnii).  This image presented a bit more trouble for me than many of the others.  There were areas of dark shade below and above the sparrow on the image so I had to make some pretty drastic crops in Lightroom.  Once I got mostly bird and sunlight, I then did a bit of noise reduction and sent it off to Photoshop.  There I messed a bit with the exposure and mid-tones, added a little bit of vibrance, sharpened it a hair, and saved it to hard drive.  Image #59 of the Lincoln’s Sparrow, also known by the 4-letter code LISP, in the books.  My image count in the new portfolio is now 60 with the other images I worked.

I have put three or four places on my list of places I would like to see this weekend.  I’m hoping to do shooting on 2 days.  We’ll see how that works out.  If I have more time behind the computer, I have a few things I want to blog about.  Stay tuned.

About the Image:
As always, the Standard Gear was employed here on the LISP.  On the tripod, no flash.  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/640 sec at f/10

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

