Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – Sleepy

January 18, 2014
Ladder-backed Woodpecker

© jmillerphoto.com – Ladder-backed Woodpecker (Female)

I had every intention of getting out this morning instead of sitting at the house.  Honest.  I did.

But last night proved to be a bad, bad sleep night.  Allergies are still kicking my tail.  I think an hour of deep breathing while I pushed out my 4.5 miles of speed walking yesterday probably didn’t help matters.  So after fighting with my congestion all night, I finally got up for an hour, reset the battlefield, and went back to bed.  An hour later.

So this morning, after waking up and realizing that what I really needed (but wasn’t going to get) was more sleep if I was going to go anywhere to shoot, I decided instead that there are a ton of images I haven’t even touched yet that desperately need to be harvested.  So that’s what I did.

I processed about 11 images by the time everything was said and done, finished out the Pedernales Falls trip from the end of December, started working on the Pedernales Falls trip from late November, and spent some quality time moving old images into my new portfolio architecture.

One of the images I worked was the one you see above.  It was from my November trip to Pedernales Falls.  I shot this one in particular to show the power of suet as an attractant to birds that crave it.  In this case, the lady Ladder-backed Woodpecker (Picoides scalaris) was getting all she could of it.  As I recall, there was a Northern Mockingbird that was making her life miserable over it.  But so is life.  This goes into the portfolio as Image #78.  Yes, that is a pretty healthy jump from last time.  Some of that was administrative work moving old “master prints” from years past into the new file structure.  But the slim majority were shots I worked today.  I got a lot done.

I have great hopes for tomorrow to get some shooting done.  Originally it was going to be Warbler Woods, but I think I’ll venture a little further north than that.

About the Image:
As always, this was shot off of the Standard Gear, no flash but on the tripod.  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/160 sec at f/7.1

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 19, 2014 7:31 am

    Beautiful photograph. Hope you feel better and get some much needed sleep.

Leave a Reply

