Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – Waking Up

February 3, 2014
Blue Dasher

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue Dasher

I have been away from the blog for a little while.  Busy times for me with some training classes and dealing with the Dissociative Identity Disorder that has been our weather of late.  This 70º highs to 35º highs swings are getting really old, really fast.

In the days I have been away I have spent 7 of them in classrooms, to include two Saturdays.  Membership has its privileges.  I also spent a day volunteering to do some IT work for a local church, only to find out that the computer that they bought from Staples had been previously owned but was sold as a “Display Model” rather than a return.  Insult added to injury when the manager said, “Sorry.  Bring it in, come find me, and we’ll make it right” turned into 45+ minutes of then trying to find her.  That wasn’t easy.  And it was another lost day…

Thankfully the allergies are all but gone.  Good riddance to you, Winter Cedar.

This past weekend was no exception to weather and life getting in the way.  Saturday was spent in a training class.  Sunday should have been a morning of shooting followed by a short jaunt up to San Angelo and then the long trip home.  But freezing temperatures and precipitation (and the anticipated poor lighting that comes with it) kept me out of the blind and in front of the computer instead.

And it was a very productive morning of working in the digital darkroom.

Broad-striped Forceptail

© jmillerphoto.com – Broad-striped Forceptail with a Paper Wasp meal

I worked 9 images on the morning from a trip I made in September to Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde.  I’ve done so many bird edits of late that I had to get into something else so Dragonflies it was for the day.

Thankfully nearly all of my shots followed the same basic workflow steps:

  • Select the right image
  • Crop to the 4×5 format that I use
  • Remove a bit of digital noise
  • Adjust Highlight/Mid-tones/Shadow
  • Add a little vibrance

On the day I worked an Eastern Amberwing, a few Blue Dashers, a couple Eastern Pondhawks, a Roseate Skimmer, a Blue-ringed Dancer, and a Broad-striped Forceptail.  The last image I worked was the Blue-ringed Dancer and it is now image #88 in the new portfolio.

All in all it was a good morning of working images before I got into the car and made the trek up and back to San Angelo.  I’m hoping that this weekend will allow me some time in the field.  It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been out and I can feel the absence in my bones.

About the Images:
As usual, the Standard Gear was employed.  The Blue Dasher (Pachydiplax longipennis) at the top of the post was shot at IS0 400, 1/160 sec at f/14.  The Broad-striped Forceptail (Aphylla angustifolia) was also shot at ISO 400 and 1/160 sec, but at f/18.  This one sat in the archive for quite a while because I couldn’t identify the dragonfly.  Many thanks to Ann Mallard and Eric Isley on Flickr for the assist.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2014 3:45 pm

    Beautiful – esp. the dragonfly eating the wasp!

Leave a Reply

