Skip to content

Rocking… Just Rocking

April 27, 2014
Mexican Ground Squirrel

© jmillerphoto.com – Mexican Ground Squirrel (w/passenger)

Yep, I’ve been away for a long time.  I have been busy on many different fronts, some of which may even get an explanation at some point.  But this weekend I took time off from all that has been keeping me occupied and went shooting for the weekend at a private ranch in Webb County, Texas called the Rocking R6.  Absolutely amazing weekend of shooting with the owner, Butch Ramirez.  I don’t have time to do a full post here because (a) it is getting late and I have work in the morning and (b) I have nearly 2700 images to go through.

So for now, suffice it to say that the weekend was beyond all expectations.  The hospitality was incredible and the shooting opportunities were out of this world.

I promise early this week I will do the trip justice in this spot.  Or at least try.  I am also going to try something new that WordPress has put out with scheduling the posting of just images.  And the good Lord knows I have plenty to choose from after this weekend…

About the Image:
This Mexican Ground Squirrel (Spermophilus mexicanus) was awful playful and I know I didn’t get the best shot of him.  There’s another shot floating around where his cheeks are puffed out with a ton of gathered food.  Standard gear was utilized on the nearly fixed tripod (yes…the tripod breaking is another post and the fact I got this on a tripod is an explanation to be had later).  ISO 400, 1/125 sec at  f/9
.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2014 9:31 pm

    Welcome back! Looking forward to your photos, if that squirrel is any measure. I would love to have taken that photo.

    • April 28, 2014 10:34 pm

      Many thanks. I’m having a tough time wiping the silly grin off my face from all of the great shots I made. Been busy with a family project tonight. Hoping to get some more processing and posting done tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

