Skip to content

The Drought Continues…

May 4, 2014
Killdeer

© jmillerphoto.com – Killdeer

California, the state where I grew up, is going through a nasty drought.  My adopted home state of Texas is as well. And with life getting in the way, my photography is going through a drought, too.

If I let the photographer side of me be my leading force, I would have been out shooting images this weekend.  The weather was very conducive to shooting.

But I didn’t.  Truth be told there was a ton of stuff to get done around the house with some pending changes in my day-to-day existence.  So rather than put myself further behind than I all ready am, I instead did the right thing and took care of business around the house.

That isn’t to say that I didn’t at least look at my images this weekend.  I most certainly did, to include processing the image above and posting it to Flickr.  I also turned it into a really outstanding wallpaper selection which will immediately enter into my personal rotation of images.

But photography could not be the primary focus of this weekend, so my relative drought of image making trips continues for this week.  Next week my Saturday is all ready booked with being “at work.”  And with Sunday being Mother’s Day, my chances of any significant photography adventures are trimmed down to nothing.  And while that is not my desired end-state, it is fine because I still have a ton of images to work.  Included in those images was last weekend’s trip to the Rocking R6.  Wow… I still cannot wipe that silly grin off of my face from how great that trip was.

So, back to water conservation mode.  Have a great week.

About the Image:  Today’s image marks the third time I have repeated on a species this year (with the Ladder-backed Woodpecker and Northern Cardinal being the others).  The Killdeer pictured here was not the standard “Nature’s Warning Call” through the benefit of being in the bird blind.  Better for photography and less stress on the bird.  Now if I can only get a Black-necked Stilt that is similarly non-stressed then life would be wonderful.  The images were made with the Standard Gear, on the tripod but with no flash.  Technical specifications were ISO 200, 1/250 sec at  f/9.  This image took a little more clean up work than the average image and perhaps I will discuss that at another time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2014 8:38 am

    Your wildlife images are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

