Skip to content

Drought Continues, But Rain in the Forecast…

May 26, 2014
Robber Fly

© jmillerphoto.com – Robber Fly

This should have been a great weekend for photography.  I was able to take Friday off as compensation time from my job.  Monday is a holiday.  Four days for photography, right?  Well, no, it hasn’t worked out that way.  And it is okay.

South Texas is being blessed with cool temperatures, cloudy skies, and some rain this weekend.  The weather forecasters (of which, Weather Underground, is my current favorite), have been talking about this since last weekend and thankfully it showed up.  We have been mighty dry this winter and spring, and every drop is appreciated and welcomed with open arms.  There is no such thing as bad rain in south Texas.  Just mildly inconvenient.

So as our rain drought may be over, so too may be my photographic one.  Last weekend I met up with a good friend at Austin’s Hornsby Bend Bird Observatory for my first solid dragonfly shoot of the year.  Windy conditions, but at Hornsby Bend there are enough places where you can be protected from that wind that photography was still possible.

Sulphur-tipped Clubtail

© jmillerphoto.com – Sulphur-tipped Clubtail

The rust from last fall was obvious–I had not been on a dragonfly-centric shoot in Texas since the end of September.  All the bird work had dulled some of those skills.  But I still managed to make it into a 2nd memory card and I think all and all I made some nice images.  I also was able to add another species to my butterfly life list when I saw a Soapberry Hairstreak.  The images were not blog worthy, but it was kind of cool to have even more to show for the day than just the dragonflies.

All in all it was a good day in the field.  I am hoping that the photography drought is breaking.  During my four day weekend that has been decidedly indoors I have been doing a ton of travel planning for upcoming trips.  My delayed annual week-long local photography binge is coming up in early July with the potential for yet another week of photography binge in late July in a neighboring state.  And I have processed an image or two.

And as I finish this post, with the rain falling outside the homestead and thunder in the background, I can tell you that our rain drought is breaking.  Hopefully my photographic drought will, too.  Without the thunder, of course.

About the Images:
Both images were shot with the Standard Gear, on the tripod, with no flash.  Flash might have helped some of the images on the day–I really need to get the repair done one of these days.  The Robber Fly (Laphria macquarti… maybe) was very cooperative and gave me a couple of perches to work off of.  It would have been nicer to have had it with prey, but no need to be greedy.  Technical specs were ISO 400, 1/400 sec at  f/9.  The Sulphur-tipped Clubtail (Gomphus militaris) was also cooperative, though I wish the background had been a bit more clear.  Technical specs were ISO 400, 1/640 sec at f/11.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 26, 2014 11:09 am

    Beautiful photographs. Truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

