Skip to content

That Missing Time Between July and January

January 3, 2015
Northern Cardinal (Female)

© jmillerphoto – Female Northern Cardinal

I sure did take a long hiatus from this blog.  I took a similarly long hiatus from shooting in general.  There were some good reasons for this:

– New Job:  The new job kept me busier than I anticipated.  The toughest training task: I had to learn how to blend into a civilian working environment.  That was much tougher than I would have thought.  There’s more to it than just learning how to pick out clothing (though that was far from trivial…).

– New Home:  I mentioned it in an earlier post, but the mechanics of moving from one abode to another seems to take much longer the older that I get.  This one was also different because there was an emphasis on finality.  I’m hoping this is the last move I make for a very long time, and as such I took the time to do silly things like create my “I Love Me” wall–basically all of the awards and whatnot that I earned over 22 years of service.

– New Routines:  For the last 22 years I had a pretty steady routine.  Sure, some of the finite details would change as I moved from duty station to duty station.  But the daily grind was always the daily grind.  It has taken me a while to adjust to the new daily grind.  Different moving pieces.  Different hassles.  I think I have gotten those ironed out, too.

As I made those adjustments, my shooting and blogging suffered.  In six months I had a grand total of two shooting days.  Pretty disappointing.   I also had just a couple of blog posts.  One of them was obviously near and dear to my heart (and wallet).

But that second photo shoot was just a couple of weeks ago and it felt incredible to get back into the field.  And now with a couple of blog posts in for the year that feels pretty good, too.

So I’m hoping the initial adjusting is pretty much done.  I’m ready to get back into the saddle.  Let’s get this thing on the road.

About the Image:
This female Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) was shot at South Llano River SP (near Junction, Texas) in my last photo shoot in December.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/6.3.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2015 11:53 am

    I’m happy you are getting things all sorted out and the photograph is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

