Skip to content

Finally Into The Field

January 25, 2015
© jmillerphoto.com - Black-throated Sparrow

© jmillerphoto.com – Black-throated Sparrow

I finally broke my string of not getting into the field with a quick trip to South Llano River SP on Saturday.  As always, the park was marvelous and the bird photography was outstanding.

I shot first in the Agarita blind, which is a departure from my norm.  As long-time readers of this blog know, the Acorn blind is my blind of choice.  But I felt like with the new year it was a chance to change up my shooting regimen so Agarita it was.  I had wonderful luck with Black-throated Sparrows, Northern Cardinals, Black-crested Titmice, and a number of other birds.

After about two hours of shooting I did wander down to the Acorn blind and shot for about an hour. Most of the usual suspects were there, too.  A set of Inca Doves that showed up towards the end of the shoot was probably the highlight of that blind.

Between the two locations I shot a little in excess of 700 images.  Yes, I blew through my first 16Gb card and started into a 2nd.  Not too shabby for a few hours of fun.

I also heard about a blind a little closer to home so I am likely going to venture there early next month as I try to keep this run of shooting going.

Sure felt good to be in the field.  I need to do it more often.

About the Image:
My good buddy the Black-throated Sparrow (Amphispiza bilineata) was very cooperative in the Agarita blind.  This little guy and many other of his friends made for a great shooting experience.  Standard gear was used as always.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/80 sec at f/6.3.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2015 3:46 pm

    So lovely:)

  2. January 25, 2015 11:46 pm

    Reblogged this on Effervescent Francois! and commented:
    Love the birds!

Leave a Reply

