Skip to content

The One Where I’m Supposed To Be Working on a Blog Entry…

February 9, 2015
Pine Siskin

© jmillerphoto.com – Pine Siskin

With a gentle nod to the good people who created and produced the show “Friends”, though admittedly I was either working nights or stationed overseas during the entire run of the show and really never got into it.  Then again, I haven’t followed a TV series since Cheers and Star Trek: The Next Generation went off the air in 1993.

I should be going into a long story about my trip this weekend to South Llano River SP.  And it was a great trip, minus what seemed to be a plethora of noise that followed us to the Acorn Blind.  I hit three of the four blinds, and all of them were productive.  I was forced to change my mind about the blind just off of the primitive camping section–it really has some solid potential.

But y’all, I am genuinely tired tonight.  Long weekend.  Sunday was spent trying to put the office back in order so I can once again become somewhat productive.

Monday was a long one.  I Love Mondays (Said Nobody.  Ever.)

So I am officially behind again when it comes to processing images.  I think I can handle it.  I am hoping to hop into the digital darkroom a couple of times this week if only to get back on track.

On the technology end of things, I am finding that I really need a laptop, but I don’t want to buy a laptop–that is $400-$500 I could be putting towards the camera that I covet: The Canon 7D Mark II.  So tonight I am transforming my humble Chromebook into a Linux-based laptop.  The one thing that the Chromebook could not do that I needed it to do:  Open LibreOffice files natively and access my network drives while I am in the house.  Nothing special.  But it was outside of what the Chromebook could do.  I’ll report on how it goes in a later blog post.

So I guess I did work on the blog entry after all…

About the Image:
This humble Pine Siskin (Spinus pinus) perched very well for me.  What made me especially happy with this image was the creamy background, devoid of distracting artifacts.  What didn’t make me especially happy was that I had too much light and it was too late in the day.  Lesson for next time, I guess.  Camera settings (with the Standard Gear) were ISO 400, 1/1000 sec at f/10.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2015 8:27 am

    You said that you had a ‘productive’ trip to SLRSP. What were some of your memorable sightings? BTW, great Pine Sisking image.

    • February 10, 2015 7:59 pm

      Thanks for the compliment on the image, Bob. It was most of the “usual suspects” for this time of year. Black-throated Sparrows, Chipping Sparrows, Northern Cardinals, Western Scrub-Jays, doves of many flavors. Good shots, though for once there was too much light at many of the blinds. Just a good day of shooting.

  2. February 10, 2015 2:05 pm

    By the way, if you able to get that Mark II. It leaps and bounds better than the old 7D. You will love it.

    • February 10, 2015 8:00 pm

      I hope so. As you know, I’m still rocking with the 60D which has performed admirably for me over the last almost four years. But the specs and the initial images from the 7D Mark II are poking me in the ribs and reminding me it has been a while since I upgraded the camera.

  3. March 25, 2015 9:37 pm

    Just dropping by to say yay for another ST:TNG fan. And Cheers, of course. Good taste!

Leave a Reply

