Skip to content

The Weekend of the Lost Opportunity

February 15, 2015
Chipping Sparrow

© jmillerphoto – Chipping Sparrow

Frustration is the name of the game as I write this Sunday morning.

Weather was wonderful Saturday morning, but I was still dealing with the fatigue hangover that comes with driving 7+ hours the day before to take care of some family business.  I did look at the forecast Friday afternoon somewhere during my journey and came to the conclusion that the weather would still be good on Sunday for shooting.

So much for relying on forecasts.

Instead, clouds showed up Saturday afternoon and the revised forecast had rain arriving Sunday afternoon.  And that revised forecast was mighty accurate with a big green splotch covering the weather maps this morning.  Bother.

It wasn’t like Saturday was a complete waste.  I finished the process of turning my Chromebook into a Linux laptop–it works great but the process is not for the feint of heart.  I also got a long-delayed framing project to a local frame shop.  By long-delayed I mean over 10 years, but that will be a blog entry for another time.  I also made strides towards a bird blind project I’ve been working on.  And I was able to spend a good deal of time with my Valentine, so that made the day worth it.  But getting out and making images, especially in the morning while my Valentine was doing other things, would have made the day even that much better.

So today is time in the digital darkroom, including the image that led the post.  I imagine that before it is said and done that I will also clean up some of the debris that accumulated over the week (or weeks) as I took care of a number of physical projects in my home work space.

Next weekend isn’t looking much better at this point.  The forecast is saying rain throughout the weekend.  Maybe that forecast can be wrong, too.

About the Image:
This Chipping Sparrow (Spizella passerina) posed nicely for me in the blind next to the primitive camping area at South Llano River SP.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/500 sec at f/11 with the Standard Gear.  This isn’t one that I will eventually print because it was a product of more direct sunlight than I typically like to have.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

