Skip to content

Rocking Revisited

February 22, 2015
Green Jay

© jmillerphoto – Green Jay

I’m officially behind again on my processing.  Way behind.  And I’m mighty happy about it.

Saturday took me back to the Rocking R6 Ranch in Webb County, Texas.  I visited the ranch last year and had an incredible weekend.  I knew I had to get back at least once this year so around the holidays I had contacted the owner, Butch Ramirez, to setup a return visit.  Butch recommended visiting in January or February if I wanted to concentrate on birds.  So I setup some time this weekend to go down and visit.

Female Red-winged Blackbird

© jmillerphoto.com – Red-winged Blackbird (Female)

Unfortunately, with some family obligations I was only going to get Saturday to shoot. But it was an outstanding day to shoot and the quantity and quality of images were beyond my expectations.  Tons of awesome birds.  Great light.  Wonderful hospitality.  It was a superb day all around and well worth the price of admission.

So this Sunday, along with taking care of the aforementioned family obligations, I am also dutifully going through 1500+ images from yesterday.  Check out my Flickr feed as I go through the images and post some of my favorites.  I will post at least one installment of Stepping into the Darkroom this week as well.

About the Images:
Here are two of my initial favorites from the day, both shot with the Standard Gear.  Leading off is one of many Green Jay (Cyanocorax yncas) images I made during the shoot at one of Butch’s newest blinds.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/11.  The female Red-winged Blackbird (Agelaius phoeniceus) was from the morning blind I shot at last year.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/100 sec at f/7.1.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

