Skip to content

Stepping Into the Digital Darkroom – I’m Nowhere Near Fin(i)ched

February 25, 2015
House Finch

© jmillerphoto.com – House Finch

I am still buried under what is an incredible number of images to work after my weekend at Butch Ramirez’s Rocking R6 Ranch.  And I can’t wipe the silly grin off of my face.  Wow that a great day of shooting!  Thinking about going through the images Monday night made my Monday work day much less caustic than normal.  And of course I got home on Monday and found that I had a load of other tasks to do.

So I moved forward to Tuesday night and found far more success in getting to sit down and do some damage in the darkroom.

There were two in particular that I really liked.  Image one is the image that leads this post.  It is just the humble House Finch.  Yes, I have a ton of House Finch (Carpodacus mexicanus) images in my portfolio (okay, maybe not a ton, but this one is #8), but this one found favor (and thus a place in the portfolio) because it met my qualities in a good bird image.  Solid perch with character, vibrant colors in the bird, creamy background and sharp details.  The slightly spread out tail added to the character of the shot.

This one more or less edited itself.  Solid crop and minor color temperature adjustment in Lightroom.  Moved to Photoshop where I played with shadows and mid-tones just a tad and added some vibrance and sautration.  Image #226 into the portfolio.  As with all of my images, I shot off of the Standard Gear and the camera settings were ISO 400, 1/800 sec at f/8. As with all of my images for the blog, I then reduce it to an 8×5 format rather than my standard 4×5 format for printing.

Green Jay

© jmillerphoto.com – Green Jay

Next I tacked another reasonably easy shot of this Green Jay (Cyanocorax yncas).  Technically I now have one image in the portfolio, though the image I lead the Sunday post with will also go into the portfolio shortly.  I used this image because I liked the way it had twisted its body upwards.  I also liked the cactus in the background, giving it a true desert feel.

All this image needed was a little cropping in Lightroom, followed by a bounce into Photoshop where I again spent a little bit of time with shadows, mid-tones, vibrance, and saturation.  Image #227 into the portfolio.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/11.

And yes, I still have a ton of images to work…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2015 9:14 pm

    Amazingly beautiful. Green Jay…incredible…what color. I LOVE House Finches. Wonderful post. Thank you.

    • February 28, 2015 10:36 pm

      You’re welcome. Thank you for the kind words. Making images of the Green Jays was a unique treat that comes with the ranch being about 50 miles from the US/Mexico border. House Finches sometimes get neglected because they are so common, but their coloration is mighty pretty.

Leave a Reply

