Skip to content

On a Different Bend

March 16, 2015
Inca Dove

© jmillerphoto.com – Inca Dove

I haven’t been able to do much photographic work of late, but all in all it has been for a good cause.

Last weekend all of my photographic pursuits were squashed by family from out-of-town visiting.  As I had not had visitors to the new abode, there was a lot of prep work needed to make sure that my visitor would be comfortable.  Mission accomplished that occupied a lot of time, but it was worth it many times over.

I didn’t even fire up Photoshop this week as I had a ton of household chores to do when I got home from work.  Most of it can be related to the change of seasons.  Spring cleaning and whatnot.  At least one of these things will be the subject of a blog post in the near future.

And then there was Saturday.  I had plans to go out to a local spot that I had not been to in a long time.  And I made it about 15 minutes down the road before life reared its ugly head and sent me back home for a short task.  By the time the task was resolved I had run out of usable morning daylight.  So goes life.  At least I got a project off to be framed and I got my initial prints of my Roadrunner friend done.  It wasn’t a complete loss of a day.

So Sunday morning I headed out to Crescent Bend Nature Park at the eastern edge of Bexar County, Texas.  A few weeks back when I was out at South Llano River SP, another photographer told me that a blind had been setup and that there were some great pictures coming out of it.  And of course I put it off because while I had been to the park before, it was a park where I always did more walking than shooting, and when I did make some images it was usually during dragonfly season.

A volunteer had just put seed out when I arrived, but warned that there wasn’t a wide variety of species out yet.  Migration has not yet made it to our part of the world.

She was right.  But there were quite a few birds and the blind is set up very, very well for photography.  It was definitely worth the trip.

The highlights of the day were the Inca Doves and the female Red-winged Blackbirds.  Also present were White-winged Doves, Carolina Chickadees, Black-crested Titmice, Brown-headed Cowbirds, Chipping Sparrows, Lesser Goldfinches, Black-chinned Hummingbirds and Northern Cardinals.

I only made a little over 230 images in a couple of hours, but I have 14 images that I want to work further into possible portfolio adds.  Not too shabby.

I can’t wait to get back out there.  This is a quality blind and the folks who run the Friends of Crescent Bend have done a marvelous job putting it together and keeping it running.

About the Image:
This Inca Dove (Columbina inca) is by far my favorite shot of the day.  Great head position, great sharpness in the eye, an interesting and sharp perch, and a pleasingly blurred background make this a winner.  It was shot on The Standard Gear.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/320 sec at f/6.3.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2015 4:03 pm

    Lovely

  2. March 18, 2015 7:59 am

    A beautiful bird, lovely pose and perfect composition!

Leave a Reply

