Skip to content

Birth of a Blind

March 22, 2015
Northern Cardinal

© jmillerphoto – Northern Cardinal

Saturday’s stormy weather gave away to a pretty decent Sunday morning.  My original plan was to hit the road and head to a local birding spot.  But a home obligation was going to require me to be at the house around noon. So instead I shifted plans Friday night and decided that this weekend was the weekend I tried out the nearest blind to the house.  The one in my backyard.

About 18 months ago when we made the final decision that it was time to hang up the uniform, we made the conscious decision that when we moved we wanted to buy a place that would allow me enough space to put a bird blind in the backyard.  A number of people that I follow on other social media sites have done this and I thought it was a great idea.

As has been my experience at public and private blinds, there are two things that make a blind:  Birds coming in and the right angle of light to make images of them.  When we were looking to buy the place, I knew we had the birds.  The only thing left was to make sure I had the light.  And with as many trees as I have in our backyard, I was a little concerned with that.  With autumn’s arrival  and the departure of the leaves from the trees, I had no idea how the light was going to look in the spring and summer.

Spring is obviously here and the leaves are beginning to return.  So this morning was the first morning in the backyard to see where the light was and whether or not the birds would come.  Early results on both are very good.

Today’s work was done in a pop-up blind from Gander Mountain I picked up a couple of weekends ago.  I will move it a couple of times over the next few months to make sure I have the structure exactly where the light is going to be best as the canopy changes.

The final product will be a permanent structure much like they have at Pedernales Falls SP, South Llano River SP, or San Angelo SP, but with a setup similar to that that I’ve worked out of at the Rocking R6 or the former Petersen Ranch.

More updates as they occur and more images to follow at Flickr.

About the Image:
I don’t like going back-to-back blog posts with the same bird leading the charge, but this Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) was too good to save for another time.  Standard gear was employed.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/8.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2015 11:13 am

    Stunning photograph. Truly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

