Skip to content

Back on the Bench

March 29, 2015
© jmillerphoto.com - Chipping Sparrow

© jmillerphoto.com – Chipping Sparrow

I’m sure glad I’m not paid based on my ability to think and be able to follow through.

On about Thursday morning I started eying the weekend weather and thought, “Wow… Beautiful skies & warm temperatures.  This would be a great weekend to start my Ode shooting season.”

And then Thursday afternoon family matters came up, escalated on Friday, and by Saturday morning my ability to travel went out the window.  So much for my thinking.

In the big scheme of things, not being able to get in the car and make images this weekend is a pretty small thing compared to what my bride is managing with her family so I will support her, note the photographic bump in the road, and look forward to my next shooting opportunity.

I did spend some time in the backyard blind yesterday.  I exposed a few frames but most of the time was spent measuring the light as the trees surrounding the current blind site start to get their leaves.  And while my initial location was okay, there are too many shadows to my liking at this point.  Time to look for location #2.

I still managed about 10 images that are worthy of processing.  I was able to take advantage of the plethora of blue bonnets that are in the yard as shown with my image that leads this post.  The Chipping Sparrow (Spizella passerina) hit the perch I had put in place and with an effective f-stop of 9.0, I achieved some blur but also some definition.  I was still at ISO 400 when I made this image, but when I saw how quick the shutter was (1/640 sec) , I made the decision to drop to ISO 200 to eliminate noise in the camera rather than waiting until I brought it in.  And always, it was shot on The Standard Gear.

No shooting today.  I both have a homework assignment due and have some home work to do.  And then the week starts again…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2015 5:16 pm

    A wonderful photograph. Sweet and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

