Skip to content

In the Process of Processing

December 3, 2015
15_PowderedDancer_01.jpg

© jmillerphoto.com – Male Powdered Dancer damselfly

The holiday weekend went by far too quickly, but then again it always seems to go by quickly.  I was very successful in at least making a small dent my backlog of images that I need to harvest out of my directories.  Okay, dent may be too strong of a word.  Kind of scratched the paint, maybe?

As I completed the weekend my portfolio had reached 371 images and I completed reviews on three different photo shoots.  Plus I was able to finish some projects around the house that kept me in good stead with my significant other.  Not too bad for a 4-day weekend.

I still have a ton of work to do to eliminate the backlog.  And just as I’m pondering the process needed to continue the backlog elimination, I also know that I need to get on the ball when it comes to figuring out what I want to do next year for photography.  At least one extended trip is pretty much set in stone.  I’m trying to figure out which paid blinds I want to visit next year and need to start making those contacts soon.  And then there is that list of all other things that I want to do.  Which in turn will just add to my backlog.  It is a problem, but a great problem to have.

I haven’t processed a single picture this week, but life has kept me busy.  Holiday preparations, work, and life in general has gotten in the way.  I have a couple of blog posts running through my head so perhaps I’ll get those off diverted out of the head and into the blog this weekend.  Then again, the weather is supposed to be really good…

About the image:
This is one of many images that came out of my Thanksgiving Feast of Processing.  This male Powdered Dancer (Argia moesta) was captured for posterity in April 2012 in Bexar, Texas.  The standard gear was utilized, on the tripod but without flash.  ISO 200, 1/125 sec at f/5.6.  That wide-open f-stop contributed to the creamy background I was able to achieve.  It also rendered his back legs slightly out of focusing, demonstrating the physics of a long lens, a wide-open aperture, and a lens near its minimum focusing distance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

