Skip to content

Changing Standards

December 5, 2015
15_WWDO_01

© jmillerphoto.com – White-winged Dove

As I have alluded to a few times in the last few posts, I made a change to my Standard Gear recently.

In late May I said good-bye to my good friend the Canon 60D.  I made over 61,000 images with my trusted friend in the nearly 4 years I owned it.  Wonderful camera that provided me with a ton of great memories.  It is now hanging around the neck of another photographer and I hope that it provides as many good memories for him as it provided for me.

But it was time for my next camera.  I usually go 3-4 years between cameras and it had been 4 years since my last one.  My choice this time was similar to the choice I had in 2011 when I bought my Canon 60D.

Do I go with the #0D series as I have for the previous three purchases (10D in 2004, 30D in 2007, and 60D in 2011)?  In that case, the logical conclusion would have been the Canon 70D.  A certainly improved version of my 60D with a bigger sensor but with few other improvements.

Or do I step up to the 7D Mark II, bringing with it the same sensor size, a considerably higher price tag, additional weight, but some really nifty features?

Unlike the decision I made nearly 4 years ago, I did not consider the current Rebel offering (Rebel T6i), if only because it was just coming onto the market and I hate being part of what effectively becomes another round of beta testing for a camera company (and paying for the privilege may I add).

This time, the added features won out over being thrifty and I picked up the 7D Mark II.  I shoot so much off of tripod that I have discounted the extra weight as being a factor, though I did go back and verify that my tripod/head combination could handle the extra weight.

Six months in I am thoroughly pleased with the camera.  ISO performance is outstanding.  The quicker shots in burst mode are incredible (and are filling up my hard drives).  Image quality has been everything I expected and more.

I’ll still have the memories from my 60D.  A ton of them, in fact.  If I were free of work obligations and all I had to do was process images, I’d dare say there’s a couple of months worth of work to harvest all the best of them.

But I am ready to make new memories with my 7D Mark II.  And of course, put them on the hard drive ready to be relived and harvested someday.

About the Image:
This image of a White-winged Dove (Zenaida asiatica) was made with my first extended shoot with the camera in Medina County, Texas.  The new Standard Gear was used on a tripod and without flash.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/800 sec at f/10.  This image did not make it into the portfolio because his legs and feet are hidden behind the tree branch.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2015 12:01 pm

    I am glad you are enjoying your Mark II. I love mine and I recently added another body. B&H has them on sale at 1299.00. Personally, I think it is the best camera Canon has come out with in several years. Like you, I enjoy bumping my ISO up to 1600 or 2000. Great image quality, virtually no noise, and higher shutter speeds equal better bird photos for me. 🙂

    • December 5, 2015 12:18 pm

      Canon has certainly produced a winner with this one. I haven’t gotten into a situation yet where I need a second body, but should some things happen in the future I imagine I may pick up a second. New glass is on my wish list before a 2nd body. Probably the Tamron 150-600.

  2. December 5, 2015 1:27 pm

    So beautiful. Have fun with your new camera.

  3. December 5, 2015 3:50 pm

    New gear is always exciting!

Leave a Reply

