Skip to content

Sniffle. Sneeze. Zzzzzz.

December 20, 2015
15_CommonMestra_01

© jmillerphoto.com – Common Mestra butterfly

I had grand plans for this weekend.  It was a long week getting prepared for the upcoming holiday and I had some small projects I wanted to get done as well as play with a new toy.  Those plans haven’t exactly worked out.

Instead I think the week caught up with me.   As did one of the viruses that is making its way through the area.  Oh what fun it is to sneeze and cough when there is so much work to do.

I was still going to try hard this morning to get out with the aforementioned (yet not described) new toy, but when I combined the forecast for overcast skies with not feeling very good, I decided that I would just return to my comfy bed and save the trip for another day.  Besides, toys are best played with on Christmas Day.

I will still try to do a little bit of image processing today and put my hopes that weather will be good next weekend for a little shooting (can you tell I really want to try out my new toy…. bet there will be a blog entry about it).

About the Image:
Image #373 in the portfolio is this image of a Common Mestra (Mestra anymone) butterfly made at this past summer out in Uvalde, Texas.  The Standard Gear was employed.  The camera reporting settings of ISO 400, 1/200 sec at f/11, but I did not get the exposure dead-on with this one and it needed a lot of TLC in Lightroom and Photoshop.  It is the 12th species of butterfly that I’ve added to the portfolio.  This reasonably small number of portfolio species is why I’m looking to add more butterfly locations to my shooting next year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2015 12:39 pm

    It may be a common butterfly, but I’ve never seen one. Lovely!

  2. December 20, 2015 4:33 pm

    It’s beautiful. Merry, merry to you and yours and thank you for all the beauty you add to my life. I appreciate it.

  3. December 20, 2015 4:42 pm

    Hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

