Skip to content

2015 – The Year in Review in Pictures

December 30, 2015
Northern Cardinal (Female)

© jmillerphoto.com – Northern Cardinal (Female)

In spite of what I felt like was a limited number of times out in the field, I was really pleased with the images I made this year.  I have a ton of shots I really liked, but I’m going to share my 5 favorites.

Leading off the blog post is an image of a Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) I made out of a pop-up blind behind my house.  I was very pleased with the delicate lighting and the somewhat unusual perch.  Definitely a winner.

 

Diogmites species Robbery Fly hanging around with prey

© jmillerphoto.com – Hanging Robberfly

Another favorite of this year was from our trip out to North Carolina.  Shot in the Pee Dee NWR, this robberfly (Diogmites sp.) was a very nice add to my collection of insect shots.

 

Inca Dove

© jmillerphoto.com – Inca Dove

I’ve always been a big fan of Inca Doves (Columbina inca), and this shot made in eastern Bexar County, Texas at Crescent Bend Nature Park almost instantly became a favorite image of all of my portfolio shots.

 

Thornbush Dasher Dragonflies in Copula in South Texas

© jmillerphoto – Thornbush Dasher (in copula)

It is difficult to get one dragonfly in focus, head to wingtips to back segment.  But to get two of them sharp from top to bottom is a very tough undertaking.  A number of fellow photographers and dragonfly enthusiasts have commented that they’ve never seen Thornbush Dashers (Micrathyria hagenii) in the act of making more Thornbush Dashers.  This one was shot at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center, just south of San Antonio, Texas.

 

Greater Roadrunner

© jmillerphoto.com – Greater Roadrunner

It makes for a tough year when you know in February you have made your shot of the year.  And without a doubt, my Greater Roadrunner (Geococcyx californianus) friend, made at the Rocking R6 Ranch in Webb County, Texas, was an instant hit.

Thank you for following me through 2015.  I’m hoping 2016 will be another fantastic year of nature photography.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2015 9:52 am

    Stunning and wonderful.

  2. December 30, 2015 7:10 pm

    Yup, that roadrunner photo is a wall hanger!

Leave a Reply

