Skip to content

And In Comes The New Year

January 2, 2016
Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis), Bexar County, Texas

© jmillerphoto.com – Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis)

Liquid sunshine has greeted me for the first two days of the year so I’ve been on the sidelines, getting some projects done that hopefully will make the home office/digital darkroom more effective this year, processing some images, and working on the blog.

I was lucky enough to get out this Wednesday (or New Year’s Eve Eve, if you will) and did some shooting over at Crescent Bend Nature Park in eastern Bexar County, Texas.  The light was wonderful, the birds were plentiful, and the conversations with the other couple of photographers that were over there was a pleasant treat.  After much delay I was finally able to play with my new toy and the results were very positive.  I’ll do a blog post about that later.

As you may have noticed from the last couple of days, I am trying something new this year.  At least for the first month of the year I’m grabbing images out of the archive and posting them as individual blog posts.  I did this a few years ago over at Google+ with dragonfly and damselfly images. Made it all the way through the year there.  I’m not sure if I have the stamina any more to go for a full year, but we’ll at least run it for a month and see how it goes.

A Very Happy New Year to you & yours.  May 2016 be an outstanding year.  Build on the successes of 2015 and flush the failures.

About the Image:
The male Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) was a nice grab on my Wednesday photography excursion.  I prefer the turned head/nearly over the shoulder pose as it seems to be more active than the straight profile shot. The standard gear was employed, plus a new toy that I will talk about soon.  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/100 sec at f/9.  I didn’t tweak it at all in Lightroom and just made very minor adjustments to levels and color saturation in Photoshop.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2016 2:56 pm

    He’s gorgeous. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

