Skip to content

From the Archives – Day 13

January 13, 2016
Perched Two-striped Mermiria grasshopper in South Texas

© jmillerphoto.com – Two-striped Mermiria (Mermiria bivittata)

Bexar County, Texas – 2015
Canon 60D – EF 300mm f/4L IS USM +1.4x Extender
ISO 400 — 1/500 sec at f/11

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2016 3:53 pm

    I have always loved grasshoppers. I think they are magical and have a story all their own. I’m positive they come from a fairyland where they are quite the intelligent species. Their faces make them look wise and fair. Anyway, every since I was a child I have been mad about them.

    • January 13, 2016 8:35 pm

      They are wonderful creatures and there is such a variety of them here in Texas. They’re also a bear to try to ID correctly. Thanks for the comment.

  2. January 13, 2016 9:58 pm

    I’ve only seen the regular green ones. I think a lot of things don’t live around here because it’s FREEZING COLD for so much of the year:) I don’t even know why I live here:) We have like six tiny brown birds…okay so we do have crows, hawks, cardinals, and blue jays but everything else is tiny and brown. LOLOL The robins come back in the summer but there are about a dozen of them currently eating the berries off the bush in front of my daughter’s house. She’s giving them raisins, which they adore, but it’s way too cold for them. I don’t know why they stayed. Maybe they were born rather late and no one told them the rules. LOLOL

Leave a Reply

