Skip to content

Recovering from the Weekend…

February 8, 2016
Perched Lincoln's Sparrow (Melospiza lincolnii)

© jmillerphoto.com – Lincoln’s Sparrow (Melospiza lincolnii)

Back in the day, for me recovering from the weekend would have meant either that I was sore from hiking too far or my eyes were recovering from being inside all weekend playing a “one more turn” computer game like Roller Coaster Tycoon or Civilization.

This weekend it meant that I’m recovering from an incredible weekend of photography.  Last week I bought my first new piece of glass in almost 10 years.  And this weekend I tried it out at a couple of my favorite places.  I don’t have time tonight to do justice to what I saw and how the images came out, but I will get to it as the week goes on.

The absolute short version of the story:  Tamron’s 150-600mm lens is an incredible bargain at a little over $1,000 USD.  And with the $120 rebate that is going on right now, it is a steal.

I’ve put my From the Archives series on hold for now.  I will start it up again soon–maybe in March.  More to come in what should be a very busy week.

About the Image:
This Lincoln’s Sparrow (Melospiza lincolnii) was one of many great bird shots I picked up on Saturday morning at Crescent Bend Nature Park in eastern Bexar County, Texas.  Shot off a tripod w/Wimberley gimbal head.  Canon 7D Mark II, Tamron 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD Lens @ 600mm, no Flash (though it might have helped if I had it).  Camera settings were ISO 400, 1/160 sec at f/13.  I decreased the contrast and then played with other elements of the levels.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2016 8:47 am

    So now I have both you and Bob saying how great this lens is. Must ignore, must ignore… Looking forward to the photos you get with it.

    • February 11, 2016 7:12 pm

      It is tough to ignore. I tried with all my might. My bride tried to order it for me for Christmas but I turned it down. Remind me never to do *that* again. Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

