Skip to content

In the Field: Who Knew It Wasn’t Just a Warner Bros Cartoon Insult???

February 10, 2016

“You Yellow-bellied Sapsucker”

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker on a water feature

© jmillerphoto.com – Yellow-bellied Sapsucker (Sphyrapicus varius)

Yosemite Sam was known to utter the phrase when he was upset–usually at that rascally Bugs Bunny.  And for years I thought it was only a cartoonish insult.  Of course, getting a good read of the various bird guides and local lists told me that no, this was a bird.

I’d never seen one until this weekend at Crescent Bend Nature Park in eastern Bexar County, Texas.  I spent a good three hours or so at the blind and it was nothing short of wonderful.

It was my shakedown photo shoot for my new lens, the Tamron SP 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD.  I have lusted after this lens for months and I finally pulled the trigger and bought it.

Over a three hour span I put the lens through its paces, shooting over 850 images.  Friends and neighbors, I am super impressed.  This lens focuses quick and is tack sharp.  Far sharper than the lens I’ve been using in years, though it is possible that my use over the years has softened my 300mm (and the 1.4x extender probably doesn’t help, either).

Yellow-rumped Warbler (Dendroica coronata)

© jmillerphoto.com – Yellow-rumped Warbler (Dendroica coronata)

I had two life list adds. One was the aforementioned Sapsucker. The other was a Northern Flicker. That puts my life list up to at least 160 birds. That list sure hasn’t moved much lately…

I also got my best ever images of more common birds, like this Yellow-rumped Warbler (aka Honey Butt or Butter Butt).  Gosh I love this lens.  Guess I’m going to keep it.

It was day one of two shooting days with this news lens over the weekend.  News about Day 2 to come.

About the Images:
Both images were made with the Canon 7D Mark II and Tamron SP 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD lens at 600mm.  The settings on the Yellow-bellied Sapsucker were ISO 400, 1/500 sec at f/13.  The settings on the Yellow-rumped Warbler were ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/13.  Both in Aperture Priority mode.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2016 10:25 pm

    I’m glad you are enjoying that lens, Jim. Your great images show it.

    • February 11, 2016 7:09 pm

      It is everything you said it was, Bob, and more. Wonderful piece of glass.

  2. February 11, 2016 9:38 am

    Lovely.

Leave a Reply

