Skip to content

Letting the Shutter Cool

March 6, 2016
Male House Finch (Carpodacus mexicanus)

© jmillerphoto.com – Male House Finch (Carpodacus mexicanus)

Last week was mighty busy.  I had a ton of distractions that, for the most part, kept me out of the digital darkroom.  Life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.  Saturday was filled with obligations gladly accepted but kept me away from the camera.  The weather was horrible today so the camera sat on the shelf, getting a well-deserved break from last weekend’s marathon at the Rocking R-6 Ranch.

That’s not to say that I stayed completely away from working images.  I did at least make it through all 2200+ frames from that marathon and I picked the ones I think are the best of the group.  That number is currently at 58, though the actual number of “keepers” will probably be less after I do my final cuts and eliminate duplicates.

I have my fingers crossed that this week I can process some of the images before I head out to make more images next weekend.   I can hope at least, right.

About the Image:
The reasonably common House Finch still makes a very nice image when surrounded by cacti in the background, providing a reasonably softened out fabric of green and yellow to work with.  Made with the Canon 7D Mark II, Tamron 150-600mm lens, shot off a tripod w/Wimberley gimbal head, with settings of ISO 400, 1/400 sec at f/10.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2016 8:10 pm

    Wow.. sharp..crisp and focused image!

  2. March 6, 2016 10:03 pm

    Such a beautiful bird. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

